Finding Satisfaction, Day 28

Image courtesy of Simon Howden at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

                        Image courtesy of Simon Howden at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

I love being a housewife. I have held several different jobs and I’ve enjoyed work outside the home. In fact, Adam has encouraged me to pursue my work and education, and to do things I enjoy and to pursue my interests. However, I do really enjoy taking care of him.

Ecclesiastes 3 says there’s nothing better for us than to do good and take satisfaction in all our work.

Adam and I are both blessed to have jobs we enjoy, places where we are respected and appreciated, places where we can learn and grow, and places that allow us to utilize our gifts and skills. But I have to say even after all that, my favorite job is that of a wife.

Colossians 10:31 says, “So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.” 

Remember that God calls us to a life of service. Again, I am blessed to have a husband with a servant’s heart. We enjoy caring for one another, caring for others, and being generous with our family and friends.

Colossians 3:17 reminds us, especially in the holiday season, how important it is to be grateful and to have a heart of service for God.

And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

Serving one another is not about getting stuff. It’s not about gaining favor from people, although those things are nice. We are called to serve even without recognition. I would say the bulk of the things I do for Adam, he doesn’t always know about, or even need to worry about because I take care of it. But when I do get a compliment from him, it’s all the sweeter, and I know he’s appreciative, since he tells me often.

Colossians 3:24-25 says, “Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men, knowing that from the Lord you will receive the inheritance as your reward. You are serving the Lord Christ.”

When your heart is in the right place, service brings great glory to God and honor to one another.

I am a firm believer that satisfaction and joy is by choice. We can choose to be joyful despite circumstances. We can find deep satisfaction in what we do if we have servant hearts, and we seek to please one another mutually. Serve with gladness, dear lady friend, and ask God to fill your heart with joy and satisfaction.

5th-annual-bhe-challenge

This is Day 28 of the 30 Dates in November Challenge 2016. Sign up here. Join us on the forums for the challenge of the day and participate in a supportive community.

Drop a Line

