Above All, Love, Day 21

11-21-16-above-all-love

There have been a ridiculous number of songs written about love. There have been a ridiculous amount of movies made about love stories. Love plays a powerful role in our lives. But there is no love like the love of a husband… or the love of God. The greatest Love Story of all includes us too – Jesus Christ coming to the earth, living as a man, dying to save us, and rising again so we can be reunited with the Creator of the Universe.

I think back to the moment I knew I loved Adam. We attended a function at my school, a student film festival. We were dressed up. Adam even wore a tie. I wore a honeydew green dress. We were spending time with my family – my mom and my youngest sister had visited campus. Adam leaned over and whispered in my ear that he thought I was beautiful and he adored me. Of course, I was in the clouds, grinning from ear to ear. When my mom and sister left, I remember feeling wistful because I missed them already. I remember taking a walk with Adam, holding his hand, and telling him I couldn’t explain how I was feeling because I was sad for no real good reason. In another month or so, I’d be visiting my family for Christmas break. As we walked for almost an hour, Adam patiently listened as I tried to explain my feelings and then it hit me. I squeezed his hand. I missed my family, but Adam was my family now too. He was someone I cared about just as much as them, if not more so. I finally racked up enough courage to tell him I was falling in love with him. He looked at me adoringly, squeezed my hand, and said, “Oh Hannah, I am in love with you.”

My heart could’ve melted into a puddle of happiness right there. The man I cared so deeply about loved me too. Do you remember falling in love? Do you remember those early days? Things have changed quite a bit since then. We got married. We moved states. We’ve changed jobs a few times. We’ve grown older. But honestly, I love him more now than I did then. I imagine ten, fifteen, twenty, forty years from now I’ll love him even more.

Adam and I’ve been through a lot in our first few years of marriage, more than possibly the average couple does. However, it has only cemented our love and made us grow stronger in our love for one another. I am so grateful for 1 Peter 4:8 which reminds us “above all, love each other deeply, as love covers a multitude of sin.” Adam married a woman affected by sin and the brokenness of this world. I am far from perfect. But he forgives so generously and loves so deeply despite all my faults. I know I am a blessed woman! I also know I didn’t marry a perfect man either, but as the verse says, “love covers a multitude of sin.”

We love because He first loved us,” 1 John 4:19 reminds us. I would be incapable of loving Adam as I should and he couldn’t love me like he does without the love of God engulfing us, filling us, moving us, sustaining us, uplifting us, and reminding us. Oh by the grace and love of God my marriage still stands today and that’s something to celebrate! Can I get an Amen?

5th-annual-bhe-challenge

This is Day 21 of the 30 Dates in November Challenge 2016. Sign up here. Join us on the forums for the challenge of the day and participate in a supportive community.

1 Comment

  1. Karen

    Amen!!! Hannah, my husband and I fell in love over 50 years. I must say that our love is better and stronger today than it was in those early years. Our children are raised, our responsibilities have diminished, and we have more time for each other. We can linger together in bed before we rise in the morning, we can take a nape together in the afternoon, we can go to bed early if we want. These have promoted our intimacy together. We are still plenty busy, but we can choose what we tackle, when we get involved in activities, and can opt out of things that distract from our marriage. It is a wonderful life, I just regret that we only have a few more years on this earth, and that we did not start this kind of love journey earlier..

Drop a Line

