In the Silence, Day 19

Image courtesy of Gualberto107 at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

                             Image courtesy of Gualberto107 at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

I love lingering in my husband’s hugs. I enjoy the warmth of his embrace, the quiet strength he infuses, and for a moment, there is no one else in the world except us.

In a world obsessed with noise, silence is a rarity. I have to admit, I am not always comfortable with silence. I like listening to music when I’m doing homework. I like popping in a movie or a show I’ve seen a hundred times while I clean my room. I like having white noise when I sleep.

What’s so scary about the silence? I have discovered when I am silent, truly silent, and I shut off my crazy mile-a-minute brain, and just be in the moment, open to hearing from the Spirit and allowing God to move, that I often connect with those hard-to-reach parts of myself – the parts with my deepest desires and fears, my deepest shames and pains, but also my deepest joys and pleasures.

It’s hard to remain in a place where I am most vulnerable. That’s why I think we as a society fear silence. But silence can be incredibly healing and soothing. Silence can bring deep peace and restoration. Silence shared can be incredibly intimate.

In a world where everyone has an opinion and feels entitled to speak it, we need more silence. In a world where everyone is running at warp speed, we need more stillness. In a world where we are bombarded with over-sexualized images and messages, we need more quiet intimacy.

Psalm 23, the Shepherd’s prayer, reminds us to take a step back and quiet down. “The Lord is my Shepherd, I lack nothing. He makes me lie down in green pastures, He leads me beside still waters, He refreshes my soul.”

In the midst of a chaotic passage, Psalm 46:10 reminds us to “be still and know that I am God.”

Ecclesiastes 3:12-13 reminds us that while work is important it is okay to stop and enjoy ourselves:

I know that there is nothing better for people than to be happy and to do good while they live. That each of them may eat and drink, and find satisfaction in all their toil—this is the gift of God.” 

Song of Solomon gives us multiple pictures of rest and intimacy, and how beautiful it is when a husband and wife engage in such things. One of my favorite passages is Song of Solomon 5:1 where God reminds the husband and wife to “Eat, friends; drink and imbibe deeply, O lovers.” God created our sexuality, and designed us for intimacy.

Take time today to be silent with your spouse, to enjoy a long embrace, to relax into a long cuddle session, to simply be together without talking. Enjoy quiet intimacy.

 

5th-annual-bhe-challenge

This is Day 19 of the 30 Dates in November Challenge 2016. Sign up here. Join us on the forums for the challenge of the day and participate in a supportive community.

Drop a Line

