Embrace, Day 13

Quick Note: If you haven’t been over to the forums since you signed up, please check it out. This is where the daily challenges are being posted. I see a significant portion of members have not been online on the forums since before the challenge started. If you have questions or concerns, please leave a comment below. You can click here to sign in. If you’d like to be removed, please email me. 

Image courtesy of Applezoomzoom at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

                            Image courtesy of Applezoomzoom at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

I love warm hugs.

And no, I’m not Olaf from Frozen. :)

I love giving hugs and receiving hugs. I love the hugs my husband gives too, big and strong and makes me feel safe, warm, and loved.

When Adam and I were dating, I took a “break” but neglected to tell him. Yes, I know, this wasn’t the best way to handle a relationship. When I finally called him after several days of no contact, he came running over to meet me. The first thing he did was wrap me in the biggest hug ever. It was then I realized I had been running away from love. I was pretty ashamed at how stupid I had been. Adam still respected me and wanted me. He ran out to meet me like the father does of the prodigal son in Luke 15. Adam could’ve rejected me. He could’ve broken up with me. Instead he loved me unconditionally. As I stood in his arms and cried and begged forgiveness, Adam said, “I will always come for you so help me God.”

Touch is important in a marriage. Touch can tell us we are loved and needed and respected. Touch can give us comfort and peace. Touch can give us hope and joy. Touch can make us feel safe. Touch can remind us why we are alive.

I think this is why God invented hugs. Ecclesiastes 3 tells us there is a time for everything, including embracing. I knew from Day 1 this was probably going to be one of my favorite days because of how much I like embracing my husband. And you know what goes great with embracing? Kissing and touching and all kinds of lovin’!

Song of Solomon has much to say on touching, kissing, and embracing.

  • Song of Solomon 1:2 “Let him kiss me with the kisses of his mouth—
        for your love is more delightful than wine.” 
  • Song of Solomon 1:13 “My beloved is to me a sachet of myrrh
        resting between my breasts.” 
  • Song of Solomon 2:6 “His left arm is under my head,
        and his right arm embraces me.” 
  • Song of Solomon 2:16-17 (MSG) “My lover is mine, and I am his.
        Nightly he strolls in our garden,
    Delighting in the flowers
        until dawn breathes its light and night slips away.” 
  • Song of Solomon 4:11 “Your lips drop sweetness as the honeycomb, my bride; milk and honey are under your tongue.
  • Song of Solomon 4:12-13 (MSG) “Dear lover and friend, you’re a secret garden, a private and pure fountain.
    Body and soul, you are paradise,
        a whole orchard of succulent fruits…” (Now if this verse doesn’t make you want to hug and kiss and mmhmm with him, then I don’t know what will)
  • Song of Solomon 5:16 “His mouth is sweetness itself;
        he is altogether lovely.” 
  • Song of Solomon 6:3 (MSG) “I am my lover’s and my lover is mine.
        He caresses the sweet-smelling flowers.” 
  • Song of Solomon 7:7-9 “Your stature is like that of the palm,
        and your breasts like clusters of fruit.
    I said, “I will climb the palm tree;
        I will take hold of its fruit.”
    May your breasts be like clusters of grapes on the vine,
        the fragrance of your breath like apples,
     and your mouth like the best wine.” 

Spend time embracing today and touching. It’s good for you… and godly.

5th-annual-bhe-challenge

This is Day 13 of the 30 Dates in November Challenge 2016. Sign up here. Join us on the forums for the challenge of the day and participate in a supportive community. 

 

Drop a Line

