Scattering, Day 11

11-11-16-scatter

Image courtesy of Praisaeng at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

A wise woman once told me, “It’s not about what you gather, but what you scatter that makes your life.”

We are about to enter a season of giving and receiving. I am in a receiving place in my life right now, but I still have a lot to give. Even so I am grateful for people who have demonstrated their tremendous generosity with Adam and I.

However, I do think I get caught up in the whole “I don’t have money” thing. A classmate of mine shared that “money is a tool to be used, but it doesn’t affect my giving.” Giving is more than money. Giving is a spirit. Giving is scattering the best of me to others.

For the last few years, I’ve been trying to give people “gifts of experience” rather than traditional wrap-em-in-a-box gifts. Last year, for our anniversary, I found a deal and took Adam to an arcade and fun center. We made some happy memories while bowling, playing laser tag, racing go-karts, and challenging each other to arcade games, and we got to enjoy the pizza/salad bar included in the price. To me, having a fun day spending quality time with each other was more of a gift than handing him a gift card or a wrapped game.

This holiday season, make a commitment to give of yourself freely. Give your time, give your energy, give your love, give your joy. Don’t let your giving be limited by finances. Don’t give more than you have either. Don’t feel obligated to give the neighbors a gift just because they gave you one too. You can always make them a meal or invite them over for cocoa or build a snowman together in your back yard.

2 Corinthians 9:7 says, “Each of you should give what you have decided in your heart to give, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver.”

Proverbs 11:7 says, “A generous person will prosper; whoever refreshes others will be refreshed.”

I love that! Choose together as a couple how you will “scatter” to others this holiday season. I guarantee you that you both will feel blessed and be a blessing to others.

5th-annual-bhe-challenge

This is Day 11 of the 30 Dates in November Challenge 2016. Sign up here. Join us on the forums for the challenge of the day and participate in a supportive community. 

 

 

Drop a Line

