Build on It, Day 8

Image courtesy of artur84 at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

                             Image courtesy of artur84 at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

A few years ago, I was showing a friend my beautiful engagement ring and realized two of the stones were missing. I was devastated. I thought this was a sign that I was a bad wife or that I didn’t take care of my jewelry. But see my marriage is more than just my ring. It won’t crumble if a stone is lost or even the entire ring is lost. The jewels had a fragile setting, but my marriage doesn’t. I was able to replace the jewels, but if my marriage crumbled, I can’t replace my marriage.

When building a home, the most important part to remember is the foundation. Without a solid foundation, the home will not be built to last. The structural integrity depends on the foundation. The entire weight of the house rests on the foundation.

Similarly, a marriage needs  a solid foundation to help maintain its structural integrity. Merriam-Webster Dictionary defines a foundation as “a structure that supports a building from underneath” or “a basis on which something stands or is supported.” I also find it interesting that a foundation is also defined as “the act of beginning or creating.”

 

When speaking to the crowds in Matthew 7:24-27, Jesus says…

…everyone who hears these words of  mine and puts them into practice is like a wise man who built his house on the rock. The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house; yet it did not fall, because it had its foundation on the rock. But everyone who hears these words of mine and does not put them into practice is like a foolish man who built his house on sand. The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house, and it fell with a great crash.”

What kind of foundation do you want to build or create in your marriage? Honestly, without Christ as our foundation, Adam and I would not have weathered the storms in our marriage. We probably would’ve failed. But God is gracious and good and His foundation is strong.

The reason I was upset about my ring and the loss of stones was because it is a symbol of our commitment and our vows to one another. It is a symbol of our love and our foundation – the core beliefs our marriage is built upon. However, it is just a symbol. The foundation itself is what’s important. My marriage is founded on something that extends beyond precious gemstones. My marriage is founded on the precious blood of Jesus Christ.

But it doesn’t stop there. We work at our marriage. We work to build upon our foundation. We work to strengthen our marriage. Proverbs 27:17 says, “Iron sharpens iron, so one person sharpens another.” God’s Word Translation version of 1 Thessalonians 5:11 says, “Encourage each other, and strengthen one another.”

How’s your foundation? Is your marriage built to last? I guarantee you if you’re doing this challenge, if you’ve committed, you’re trying, and you want a marriage that lasts, and you are committed to a strong foundation. Keep at it in the faith, my sisters in Christ!

5th-annual-bhe-challenge

This is Day 8 of the 30 Dates in November Challenge 2016. Sign up here. Join us on the forums for the challenge of the day and participate in a supportive community. 

Drop a Line

