Words of Life, Day 6

Image courtesy of Mister GC at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of Mister GC at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

I crawled in bed one night and Adam leaned over and whispered to me, “You’re awesome.” There was no special reason. He spoke these words just because. We didn’t have a conversation that followed. I did smile and say thank you, of course, because his words really blessed me. I fell asleep with such peace.

Proverbs 18:21 says, “Death and life are in the power of the tongue…” Words are powerful. Words have the capacity to destroy, but they also have the incredible capacity to heal.

I love how when I’m feeling ill or my body is aching all Adam has to do is lay his hands on me and speak a few words in prayer. I always feel better even if my pain doesn’t go away or I still feel sick.

Proverbs 16:24 says, “Gracious words are like honeycomb, sweetness to the soul and health to the bones.”

Part of why I wanted us to share one thing we are grateful for every day on the forums as part of the challenge is to get into the habit of speaking gracious words. Don’t just type them in the forums or write them in a journal and then tuck them away. Take the time to speak words of gratitude to your husband.

The Message version of Proverbs 25:11 says, “The right word at the right time
is like a custom-made piece of jewelry.” Your man may not like jewelry, but I guarantee you he will appreciate words of grace and kindness spoken just for him. 

Merriam-Webster Dictionary defines healing as “to make whole again, to restore, to return to a sound state.” Ecclesiastes 3 tells us there is a time to heal. A well-timed, rightly spoken word or two can make all the difference in calming a person down, filling a person with peace, or giving a person love.

We live in a broken world with lots of uncertainty, violence, and chaos. In this world, we are to be kingdom minded. We shouldn’t lose sight of all the good things God has given us and all the blessings we have. Take time to speak kindly to your spouse and use positive, encouraging, uplifting words.

5th-annual-bhe-challenge

This is Day 6 of the 30 Dates in November Challenge 2016. Sign up here. Join us on the forums for the challenge of the day and participate in a supportive community. 

Drop a Line

