Words of Death, Day 5

Image courtesy of foto76 at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

                              Image courtesy of foto76 at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Over the summer, I attended a discipleship workshop. One of the lessons that stood out to me was “naming your reality.” When something has a name to it, it is no longer unknown and therefore it doesn’t have power over you anymore. I talked a little about this on Day 3 of the challenge. The second night of the workshop, I woke up in the middle of the night sensing something evil. I couldn’t really explain it other than it made me fearful momentarily.

At dinner earlier, I had prayed with two others and they had prayed over my sleep as I have suffered from chronic insomnia. I feel most spiritually attacked in the night when I’m asleep or half-asleep. I knew we had prayed that God would send His holy army of angels to protect me and if I did wake up, we prayed that it would be brief, and I’d be coherent, and I would fall back to sleep quickly.

I sat straight up, picked up the nearest object (my water bottle) and threw it across the room, saying, “In the Name of Jesus Christ through the power given to me by God the Father, I command you, Satan, to be gone.” With that, I laid back down and fell asleep immediately and I woke up the next day feeling refreshed.

John 10:10 speaks of the devil and how he has come to steal, kill, and destroy. However, Jesus promises us abundant life. I don’t know about you but abundant life, in my mind, includes abundant peace. We have been given incredible power over the Devil, more than we realize. Ecclesiastes 3 talks about how there is a time for everything, including a time to kill. It sounds odd to say, but we can speak words of death to the Devil.

1 Peter 5:8-9 reminds us, “Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour. Resist him, standing firm in the faith, because you know that the family of believers throughout the world is undergoing the same kind of sufferings.

James 4:7 says, “Submit yourselves, then, to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.

Jesus reminds the seventy-two in Luke 10:18-20, “I saw Satan fall like lightning from heaven. I have given you authority to trample on snakes and scorpions and to overcome all the power of the enemy; nothing will harm you. However, do not rejoice that the spirits submit to you, but rejoice that your names are written in heaven.”

Isn’t that last line wonderful? Yes, you have authority and power to overcome the devil and speak words of death to him through Jesus Christ, but most importantly, your name is written in heaven. You have eternal security. Like my mother says, you have a life insurance policy called salvation.

I have suffered from disturbed sleep for many years. This affects my health and wellbeing, but it has also affected my marriage. Adam has spent many days and nights praying over me and with me for my sleep.

I am sure if you think about it, there is something in your life or someplace in your marriage where Satan is trying to get a foothold or maybe he already has a foothold. Remember the power given to you in the name of Jesus Christ to cast him out, overcome him, and banish him from your marriage, life, and home. Most importantly, remember your names are written in heaven. You have eternal security and salvation in Jesus Christ.

5th-annual-bhe-challenge

This is Day 5 of the 30 Dates in November Challenge 2016. Sign up here. Join us on the forums for the challenge of the day and participate in a supportive community. 

 

Drop a Line

