Bring to Bear, Day 2

Bring to Bear from Becoming His Eve

I have not experienced the glories of birth yet, other than my own trip down the canal. Sometimes I feel like I’m on the outs because of this, like I haven’t joined this club of motherhood. This feels especially true in my Christian women circles and seems like everyone who is in their late twenties already has a child, and is on there way to their second, or third. I love children. I’m happy for my mom friends. But I’m not there yet.

In a culture that’s on high-speed all the time, I am grateful to be taking my time in the “birthing” department.  I am in no rush to be a mother. Everything in God’s timing has become my motto.

Still it’s hard sometimes because I feel this invisible pressure to be a mother from my Christian lady friends. After all, I’ve been married for nearly six years. What am I waiting for?

I want to shoot the questions right back. Can’t I be fruitful without giving birth? Can’t I be fulfilled without joining motherhood? Can’t Adam and I have a solid marriage without raising kiddos, at least at this junction in our lives?

All that being said, when I read “a time to be born,” can I be honest? I cringe a little. I am not ready to birth children yet. I could read it as There was a time when I was born, but there’s not a whole lot I can write about that, you know. Not challenge worthy.

The word “born” is the past participle of “bear.” The word “bear” has multiple definitions. Dictionary.com defines bear as “to hold up, support…to hold or remain firm under…to produce by natural growth… to strive harder, intensify one’s efforts… to endure… to face hardship bravely.” These words relate to childbirth as labor is intensive, something to be endured, to be faced bravely because it is hard.

However doesn’t this also describe life? Marriage?

Marriage required you to hold up and support. Marriage requires you to hold and remain firm under your covenant. Marriage requires you to strive and work hard for with intense effort, because it’s worth the effort. Marriage requires you to endure, and to face hardship together bravely.

I am not the same woman today that I was on my wedding day and I’m grateful for that. I have grown and matured with Adam. I have a long way to go.

I will never peak at perfection in my marriage because there’s no such thing, but my marriage is worth fighting for, working for, bearing down, and bearing fruit.

Can I get an Amen?

In order to bear fruit, your must be rooted in the Vine, Jesus Christ, grounded in His Word, and filled with the Holy Spirit.

Jeremiah 17:5-8 says,

Cursed is the one who trusts in man, who draws strength from mere flesh and whose heart turns away from the LordThat person will be like a bush in the wastelands; they will not see prosperity when it comes. They will dwell in the parched places of the desert, in a salt land where no one lives. But blessed is the one who trusts in the Lordwhose confidence is in him.They will be like a tree planted by the water that sends out its roots by the stream. It does not fear when heat comes; its leaves are always green. It has no worries in a year of drought and never fails to bear fruit.”

Bad news? You can’t do it alone. You can’t bear fruit just by “being good” in your own merit.

Good news? You have a God who gives you His strength to endure. If you are rooted in Christ, you will be like the tree planted by the water.

You won’t need to fear when heat comes (when things get painful and labor becomes hard) because you can “bear” down together and endure with the strength of God.

You won’t need to worry about drought because you will be “watered” and “refreshed” by the Living Water.

If you make God the roots of your marriage, if you “bear all things” together, God will bring to bear His fruit in your lives. 

Bible Passage for Meditation/Prayer: (Today I encourage you to read the passage once, read it again, and then pray the passage over your life and marriage).

We continually ask God to fill you with the knowledge of his will through all the wisdom and understanding that the Spirit gives, so that you may live a life worthy of the Lord and please him in every way: bearing fruit in every good work, growing in the knowledge of God, being strengthened with all power according to his glorious might so that you may have great endurance and patience, and giving joyful thanks to the Father, who has qualified you to share in the inheritance of his holy people in the kingdom of light. For he has rescued us from the dominion of darkness and brought us into the kingdom of the Son he loves, in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins.” Colossians 1:9-14

5th-annual-bhe-challenge

This is Day 2 of the 30 Dates in November Challenge 2016. Sign up here. Join us on the forums for the challenge of the day and participate in a supportive community. 

Drop a Line

