Remember to Breathe (30 Dates in November 2016)

Image courtesy of Sira Anamwong at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of Sira Anamwong at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

I have a problem. I pour myself a delicious cup of hot coffee straight out of the pot, fresh and just done. Then I carry this cup around half the morning, sometimes into the early afternoon. I set it down. I pick it back up again. It’s cold. So it’s off to the microwave I go to reheat it… about five or six times. It’s not really fresh anymore, but I’ve deluded myself into thinking it still tastes good because I’m busy and I don’t have time to notice the quality has slipped.

We live our lives in perpetual motion. We glorify busy. We feel the need to be busy for the sake of being busy. This November, I invite you to take a step back, slow down, and breathe.

That’s right. Breathe.

Right now.

Go ahead.

Take a deep breath in. And exhale.

Genesis 2:7 says, “The Lord God formed a man from the dust of the ground and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life, and man became a living being.”

A life lived at 100 miles per hour isn’t really a life now is it?

You have been given a precious gift – the gift of life. A breath for every moment of the day.

I’m going to tell you a secret.

Sometimes I forget I’m breathing.

Well, of course, I’m breathing, because I wouldn’t be alive otherwise. That’s the beauty of God sustaining me. However, I get so busy that breathing becomes something I don’t pay any attention to – I take it for granted. What happens when we forget to breathe?

We confuse efficiency with fruitfulness. We use multitasking to get more done in the day. We think busyness is the mark of a successful woman, but it’s not.

You can’t live a microwaved life.

Don’t buy the lie. Don’t be sucked in by the endless to-do list and the multitude of things we must buy to make us happy and the ridiculous promise of more – more money, more time, more information, more stuff, more security, more love, and more power. Moving at top speed will not get you more. In fact, it’ll get you less… in terms of eternity, in terms of things that have value, in terms of things that matter most.

Jesus said, “The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.” John 10:10

Replace the “they” with “you.” Insert your name here. Imagine Jesus is speaking directly to you. Read it again.

Don’t let busyness steal, kill, and destroy your spirit, your life, your breath. Lean into Jesus and accept the life He has for you, a life that is full and abundant and beautiful.

The 30 Dates in November Challenge isn’t about doing more. It isn’t about doing everything every day. It isn’t meant to be a burdensome task. I’ve bought that lie before. I’ve struggled and overwhelmed myself with the amount of content needed. I’ve struggled with keeping up with everything. This year, I want to do things differently.

The 30 Dates in November Challenge isn’t about “being busy.” It’s about finding rest, taking time for the things that matter most, spending time on things of value – your relationship with God and your marriage.

This November, I invite you to fall into a rhythm – a pendulum of work and rest.

Allow God to renew your spirit.

Allow God to restore your soul.

Press the pause button on busy.

Take a moment.

Breathe.


You can learn more about and sign up for the 30 Dates in November Challenge here.

I encourage you as you prep for the challenge take some moments of quiet each day to pray, meditate, and breathe. I’m sharing one of my favorite songs ‘Breathe’ for you to listen to and meditate upon as you quiet your heart. Listen to the words and allow God to speak His truth to you. Don’t pay attention to the pictures. Don’t read the words. Just close your eyes and listen.

 

 

 

2 Comments

  1. Thanks for this! I do that forgetting to breathe thing too sometimes.
    I often come back to a breathing technique I used in labour – in for 4, out for 6. Really helps me to relax and refocus on the moment right in front of me.

    • I’m so glad this benefited you. It’s been helping me to remember to breathe and practice slow intake, slow exhale. Thanks for reading and commenting. :o)

Drop a Line

