Shortcomings & Overabundance

I have a problem.

I over-commit.

I am a child of God. I am a wife. I am a creative writer. I am a blogger. I have the BHE ministry. I am a graduate student. I am a daughter. I am a daughter-in-law. I am a granddaughter. I am a sister. I am a woman who struggles with anxiety. I write fan fiction. I am working on novel(s). I am a gamer. I am a friend. I am a singer. I am job hunting.

The list could go on.

All of these things take time. I want to devote my time and energy to every single one of these things, but God didn’t make me to do it all. I need to pick and choose. For the last few months, I have struggled to find balance, to figure out direction, and to pick and choose the things that matter most. Frankly, my anxiety and stress has been kicked into overdrive recently.

My sister recently got married. I have been swamped with graduate school and the amount of homework/reading/papers I get. I’ve been trying to focus on creative writing for awhile to get my stuff out there. I’ve been trying to make my husband a priority. I’ve been looking for work, and trying to figure out what to do with my life.

Rest assured, readers, if I have any left, that I’m still here.

I needed to take a break, but I have a problem. I have a tendency to “pouf” into thin air when I’m feeling overwhelmed. I should’ve given you all a heads-up. I am still here. 

I have plans for the blog in the near future and I will be posting soon.

If I haven’t responded to your emails, replied to your tweets, corresponded with you on Facebook, or the blog, I apologize. I’ll try to catch up in the next few weeks.

I hope, in the meantime, you’ll grant me grace.

I want you to know I haven’t stopped thinking about/planning for the blog or my precious readers and I’ve been praying for all of you, even if I’ve been absentee.

Something God’s been reminding me of lately is how much He loves me, even when I’m busy, even when I walk away from things, even when I over-commit, even when I get stressed, and even when I’m anxious.

Psalm 103:8-12 says,

The Lord is compassionate and gracious,
    slow to anger, abounding in love.
He will not always accuse,
    nor will he harbor his anger forever;
 he does not treat us as our sins deserve
    or repay us according to our iniquities.
For as high as the heavens are above the earth,
    so great is his love for those who fear him;
 as far as the east is from the west,
    so far has he removed our transgressions from us.” 

God has an overabundance of love for those of us who follow Him and I’m grateful for His daily doses of grace that cover my shortcomings.

I pray God’s words above will be an encouragement to you as they have to me.

Blessings,

Hannah :o)

Photo courtesy of Ship

This Week on Social Media: 

 

5 Comments

  1. Lori Byerly

    Goodness, your life is full right now! Thanks for the reminder that God is good.

  2. Yes! “Overcommitted” resonates with me as well. There are so many things that I am in process with, and I have to constantly pray, ask God for direction, and do one thing at a time. Best writing wishes!

    • Thank you for your kind words. That’s an excellent point to ask God to help you focus on doing one thing at a time.

Trackbacks

  1. Shortcomings & Overabundance | hippygurl61's Blog

Drop a Line

