I Resolve Not to Resolve! The Alternative to New Year’s Resolutions

I Resolve Not to Resolve

I’m terrible at keeping new year’s resolutions. 

I am excited for the first two weeks, and then reality sets in. I over-promise and under-deliver. I overwhelm myself with the impossibilities of keeping my resolutions.

I am 27 days past the first of January and still haven’t created resolutions. 

I’ve been waiting for the perfect moment of inspiration. Yesterday I looked down at my journal. The blankness staring back at me was intimidating. Then suddenly it hit me. Like my favorite band Switchfoot says in their song, Bomb, “this is the bomb that I’ve been waiting for, living for…” I realized this was the moment I’d been waiting for. The bomb dropped, the light bulb brightened, reality awakened, or however you want to say it… I realized the truth.

I have absolutely no desire to create a resolution this year.

I resolve not the resolve. 

Is this statement, in that of itself, not a resolution? Sure… but the point is… I won’t be making any resolution this year.

Merriam-Webster dictionary defines resolution as… the act of finding an answer or solution to a conflict, problem, etc.

Merriam-Webster dictionary defines the verb ‘resolve’… to make a definite and serious decision to do something

I am definitely serious about resolving not to resolve. 

The problem isn’t in setting a resolution; it’s the way I go about finding an answer or solution. 

Why do resolutions fail? 

  • lack of motivation
  • lack of clear direction
  • no real desire for change
  • overwhelmed by the commitment
  • lack of support system

One Size Doesn’t Fit All 

There’s nothing wrong with setting goals or creating resolutions.

  • Some of you may have success with setting and completing year-long resolutions.
  • Some of you might be better with smaller, more manageable monthly or weekly goals.
  • Some of you might keep your resolutions in your head.
  • Some of you prefer to write down your resolutions and keep track of your progress.
  • Some of you might just do better with the one-word resolution.

I tried a one-word resolution last year. My word was fearless. I seriously struggled with fear in 2015. I spent the better part of the year learning what obstacles were preventing me from being fearless.While I call this progress, I didn’t exactly live up to my one-word resolution.

Alternative to Resolution: Renewal

(Want to tweet tidbits from this post? See below.)

I shouldn’t wait until January 1st to make my choice a reality in my daily life.

  • Resolution: one-time decision dependent on personal follow-through
  • Renewal: repeated restoration dependent on outside force Tweet: Resolution: 1-time decision dependent on personal follow-through Renewal: repeated restoration dependent on outside force @BecomingHisEve

In the Christian faith, we believe this outside force is Jesus Christ. 2 Corinthians 4:7 says “this all surpassing power is from God and not from us.”

When I make a resolution and I fail, I feel defeated. When I make a resolution and succeed, I feel accomplished.

Resolutions are me-centric. Renewal is God-dependent.  Tweet: Resolutions are me-centric. Renewal is God-dependent. @BecomingHisEve

When I am hard-pressed against a deadline, doubting and confused, harassed for my choices, and my beliefs, values, or faith is challenged and torn-down, I have a tendency to give up on resolutions.

Resolutions rely on my resilience. Renewal relies on God’s strength.  Tweet: Resolutions rely on my resilience. Renewal relies on God's strength. @BecomingHisEve

2 Corinthians 4:8 reminds me…

  • I may be”hard-pressed,” but I am “not crushed.”
  • I may be “in doubt,” but I am “not in despair.”
  • I may be harassed or “persecuted.“but I am “not abandoned.”
  • I may be “struck down,” but I am “not destroyed.”

Resolutions may be a one-time decision but they require daily commitment if I’m going to succeed.

If resolutions are rooted in my own resolve and physical strength, I’ve already failed.  Tweet: If resolutions are rooted in my own resolve and physical strength, I've already failed. @BecomingHisEve

2 Corinthians 4:16 says, “Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day.”

Renewal has nothing to do with my physical strength and has everything to do with my spiritual reliance.  Tweet: Renewal has nothing to do with my physical strength and has everything to do with my spiritual reliance. @BecomingHisEve

Isaiah 40:30-31 says, “Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.” 

I Resolve Not to Resolve

Are you tired of being exhausted from trying to live up to your own expectations? 

Are you frustrated about being stressed out with the daily pressures of following through? 

Are you upset with yourself because you can’t keep resolutions? 

If you answered yes to any of those questions, resolve with me not to resolve this year.

Choose to be renewed in 2016.

Share with Us

How will you choose renewal over resolution this year? 

Connect with Becoming His Eve via Social Media

This Upcoming Week in Social Media

Twitter – opportunities for you to re-tweet encouragement from this post

Facebook – tips to daily renew your marriage and your walk with God

Pinterest – check out theEve’s Garden of Encouragement board and share Scripture verses on renewal

 

Drop a Line

