One Life to Live, Day 29

When I go to Taco Bell, my favorite thing to do isn’t to order Frito burritos or taco supremes off the menu. My favorite thing to do is to pick up the sauce packets and read the sayings. Some of them are silly and some of them have some genuine advice. In early spring, I found this packet:

Day 29

Do it with passion or not at all. You only have one life to live on this earth. Yes, we live eternally and we’ll live on with Jesus in the next life. But you only have one opportunity to make a difference in this world.

What kind of legacy do you and your husband want to leave? What do you want to be remembered for? I don’t know about you but I want to live a life knowing that I’ve loved deeply and with abandon for my husband, I’ve cared deeply for those around me who are hurting, lost, and broken, and I’ve lived a life that is a testimony to the grace of God in my life. I want to live my life with passion.

You’ve been given beautiful priceless gifts in this life – your life, your salvation, and your husband. Don’t waste any of it. I’ve spent the better part of this year waiting for life to get better. The problem is God didn’t create me to sit and do nothing. He created me to be active, to serve Him in the waiting, to make the most of every opportunity He places me in. I’ve been putting off doing things that I love because I bought the lie that I can’t do what I love as a career because I’d get burnt out otherwise. But my wise husband told me this: “When you do something you love and you’re passionate about, that’s what drives you on the days you’re feeling burnt out. That’s what keeps you going so you don’t give up.”

Since quitting my job with the school, I’ve been actively pursuing things I love – spending time with my husband, spending time with family, writing, cooking, and singing. My whole outlook on life has changed because I’m doing things I love with the people I love. I know it’s not the new year yet, but my goal for 2016 is to “do it with passion or not at all.” God doesn’t want your sort-of, your halfway, your undecided, your half-hearted. He wants your all. 

I’ve been guilty of walking through the motions of marriage – doing what we need to get byI saw this infographic on Facebook back in the spring: I want a marriage so great that it becomes dangerous to the Devil. Marriage is a picture of Christ and the Church, of the ultimate sacrificial, unconditional love. When you love your husband the way God loves you, you become dangerous to the Devil because you counteract his lies about settling for less than what’s best, about just plugging along, trying to do it on your own, and squeezing by. You were created for more than that. God didn’t create you to be satisfied with a mediocre marriage. Your marriage also doesn’t need just halfway half-hearted. Your marriage, if it’s going to thrive, needs your all. What will you do with your one life to live? 

Today’s Challenge: What one thing can you commit to today, to live your life more passionately? What one thing can you do today that tells the Devil you don’t buy his lies of “halfway is okay?” What small step of change can you take today to take your marriage from mediocre to great?

Bible Passage: John 10:1-18

Additional Content: Visit the private Facebook page for 7 Ways to Fear Less and Live More Passionately. Click here to sign-up.

 

3 Comments

  1. elfurymcs

    I love the sauce packets too! “When I grow up, I want to be a waterbed.”

    Linked to you post here.

  2. Reblogged this on hippygurl61's Blog.

Trackbacks

  1. Best Christian Sex Links of the Week | Married Christian Sex

Drop a Line

