Only Human, Day 25

Day 25

These beautiful orchids in the photo above… Adam bought them for me. (Yes, I know I already used this photo. I should’ve planned ahead a bit better… but this illustrates my point.) 

And you might be thinking, “Wow, what a sweet gift!” But this surprise present came after a huge fight we had. Yes, you read that right. We’re not perfect, people. I am not the easiest person to be married to. I have real ugly moments. Dark moments. Moments I don’t want to share with the world and moments I’ve quickly regretted.

I shared this as a status on Facebook back in May:

Something I’ve been learning is it’s okay for people to see we don’t have it altogether because no one does. Even the marriage blogging woman of faith (a.k.a. me) argues with her husband, has moments of doubt, panics and forgets God’s promises, etc.

Life is hard. [We’re only human.] We’re broken people. Emotions run raw. Tempers flare (mine particularly). I’m not perfect. I can admit it. But God is faithful. He makes us whole again. He heals our wounds. He strengthens us in our weakness through His power. He refines us in our trials. He makes beauty from our brokenness. I love my husband and I know he loves me. God loves me. I have hope. I won’t live in fear. Everything fragile and ugly has beauty on the other side because I am in Jesus Christ. ‪

I have a hard time admitting I can’t do it in my flesh because I’m a struggling perfectionist. Sometimes I just need to admit I can’t do it all, and give it up to God. Sometimes I just need to admit I’m only human and I need God to do it for me. Sometimes I need to embrace the brokenness first – to grant myself the freedom to screw up, to give myself the gift of forgiveness, to allow myself to feel the emotions behind failure, and to allow God to raise me up a stronger person. I can’t remember where I read this and I wish I could give the person credit, but this statement is greatly encouraging: Your mess is the platform for God’s masterpiece. 

Today’s Challenge: What broken things in your life and marriage need mending? Take these things before God today in prayer. Ask for His healing, forgiveness, mercy, and grace. What is one thing you can do today to embrace your brokenness?

Bible Passage: Ephesians 2:1-10

Additional Content: Visit the private Facebook page for Embracing Brokenness in Your Marriage. Click here to sign-up.

Questions to Ponder: What’s your greatest flaw or fault? Can you forgive yourself? How does forgiving yourself and seeing yourself through the lens of Christ change your perspective? 

Drop a Line

