You Only Fail… Day 24

day 24

I remember when we were trying to write our wedding vows, Adam and I looked up examples. One of the things our small group leader shared with us included the lines “I pledge to be your wife, lover, friend, and cheerleader.” I remember thinking at first it sounded silly, but then the line grew on me. To this day, I’m glad we included it in our vows because we are one another’s moral support. Adam cheers me on when I’m struggling, doubting, or otherwise, being defeatist. I need him to push me some days because I probably wouldn’t get out of bed otherwise.

Adam gave me some great advice recently:

You only fail… when you stop trying. 

You only fail… if you never try. 

I needed this push from him. I had been struggling with depression and anxiety for awhile, allowing negative life circumstances to kick me down and keep me down. But I got tired of it. I got tired of who I’d become. I realized the only way I was going to succeed and get to a better place was if I got up and actually tried.

There are going to be days in your marriage and your life where you’ll struggle and days where you feel like giving up. Don’t. There are going to be days when you doubt that you have the courage and the gifts to succeed. Do it anyway. There will be days when your husband is feeling discouraged, insecure, and shaky. Believe in him and be his cheerleader. Encourage him.

I’ve shared this photo before, but it bears repeated posting:

I will fight for you

Today’s Challenge: What is something you are struggling with in your marriage, but you don’t want to give up on? Take some time to lift this thing in prayer today. Ask God to give you the courage to keep on trying. What is something you haven’t tried yet, but you know you should and you want to? Lift this in prayer also and ask God to give you the courage to take a step in faith. Create a game plan using the goal-setting tips from Day 2‘s Facebook page suggestions. Invite your husband to join you in prayer. What small step can you take today to keep going on something you want to give up on or to try that you haven’t yet?

Bible Passage: 2 Corinthians 4:16-18

Additional Content: In lieu of additional content, visit the private Facebook page and share with us how you’re doing on your goals for the month (the ones you set on Day 2 and day 10). Click here to sign-up.

Drop a Line

