Only in the Darkness… Day 23

day 23

I’ll never forget the night. I was a junior in high school at church camp. We gathered for campfire on the last night. People got up to give their testimonies and I felt God prompting me to say something. I didn’t know what, but I took a step forward. As I stood in line, I remember wondering what in the world I was going to say. That’s when I felt God whisper, “Look up.” I did. The sky exploded with stars. I had never seen so many in my life. I felt like I could reach up and just touch one. I was blown away by the beauty of the night sky. Far away from the city lights, I could see into the heavens and it was spectacular. There are no words.  When I looked at the stars that night, like the Switchfoot song, I saw Someone else – God – and I saw myself – who I was in comparison to God and who He wanted me to be. Deep in the middle of the California redwoods, I met God that night.

Martin Luther King, Jr. said, “Only in the darkness can you see the stars.”

Just like your walk with the Lord, you’ve probably hit some high points and low points in your marriage. I’ve discovered that those long, dark nights are worth fighting through and marriage is worth fighting for.

Sometimes God has to take you to the edge of yourself before He shows up and does something miraculous.

Sometimes it’s only in the darkness, the difficult times, that you truly recognize the majestic power of God and your desperate need for God.

Sometimes it’s only in the darkness that you truly understand the unconditional love of God, a glimmering light of hope. 

 

Remember this truth: There is always hope in Christ Jesus.  My marriage hasn’t been easy. We’ve had some really dark days, but in the midst of those dark days, we’ve seen stars… a glimmering light of hope that we’re in this together and we’re going to pull through. We appreciate the beauty of the stars when there is darkness all around because it is in that darkness that we see the light. 

Today’s Challenge: Think of a dark moment in your marriage (or your walk with God) where you saw stars – where you saw beauty in the darkness, where God redeemed you from the ashes. I know this has been somewhat repetitive as a challenge, but take some time to praise God today for those times you’ve come to the end of yourself and God has pulled you through in your marriage. Make a list of the “stars” in your life, the bright spots that still shine even when darkness is all around you. Share this list with your husband, and celebrate one of the things on this list (i.e. Our first Christmas together, I had a Bible engraved with these words for my husband: to my shining star, Adam. I wanted him to remember how precious a gift he was to me and how precious our faith was to us – God’s Word being a symbol of that. Today, I plan to read verses from that Bible in remembrance of our desire to start our marriage strong.) Consider doing one of the 10 things mentioned below.

Bible Passage: Psalm 8

Additional Content: Visit the private Facebook page for 24 Fun Things You Can Do With Your Husband in the Dark (in 3 parts at 6am, 8am, and 12pm.) Click here to sign-up.

 

Drop a Line

