Only Hope, Part 2, Day 22

day 22

I’ll never forget the day Adam asked me to marry him. We were sitting in the living room of his apartment and he presented me a bag of gifts. When I reached the bottom of the bag, I found a box inside a box inside a box with the ring he had custom designed for me. Out of nowhere, the song Only Hope (the Switchfoot version) began playing. We danced in the living room after I said yes. This was also the song we danced to at our wedding.

I love the beauty, simplicity, and hope of this song. The lines “I’m awake in the infinite cold /But You sing to me over and over again…” stand out to me and remind me of the nights when I struggled to sleep or woke up afraid, and Adam sang to me. He doesn’t have the greatest singing voice. He’s actually tone deaf. But it’s beautiful – my husband holding me in the darkness, comforting me with a simple song like Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus or Sanctuary. I’ve battled insomnia and nightmares most of my life, and my husband has given me hope that things will get better. He’s prayed over me, holding me, comforting me, speaking words of truth, and binding the forces of darkness with the authority given to us by and through Christ. Adam has reminded me time and time again that my only Hope is Jesus.

Sometimes we hope and we wait and we wonder if we’re stuck waiting forever. I still struggle with sleeping through the night. I struggle with hormonal imbalance. Adam and I have struggled financially from day 1 of our marriage. I hope for things to get better, and while we’ve made progress, we’re not exactly where I want to be. God doesn’t always give us what we want when we want it. He does, however, promise to provide us with all we need. And for those good things we hope for, but don’t have yet… we need to keep on hoping. Like the lines in the song, “When it feels like my dreams are so far / Sing to me of the plans that You have for me over again.”

I don’t know what you and your husband are hoping for. I imagine you’ve seen hopes fulfilled, but you’ve also been hurt by hopes dashed. When it feels like your dreams are so far away from being realized, when you feel like giving up, hope still. Hope all the more. Lean on the Father who will rejoice over you in song (Zephaniah 3:17) and give you hope in the plans He has for you.

Today’s Challenge: Spend time together praying today. I encourage you to kneel by your bed and hold hands. Pour out your hearts before God. Give Him your apathy and your emptiness. Give Him all of yourself. Pray to hear His Voice. Pray together to be only His, to have an undivided heart for Him, because He is your only Hope. Rejoice in that Hope!

Bible Passage: Psalm 42

Additional Content: Visit the private Facebook page for 4 Ways to Increase H.O.P.E. in Your Marriage. Click here to sign-up. Listen to Switchfoot’s version of Only Hope here.

Questions to Ponder: How can you be only His – God’s? 

Just for fun: Our first dance picture

 

Drop a Line

