One of a Kind, Day 20

day 20

In 2013, thunderstorms over the Rockies and monsoon moisture flowing up from the south devastated Northern Colorado and caused massive flash flooding, mud and rock slides. Thankfully, our house wasn’t directly affected since we live on a hill, but it flooded a mile in every direction around our home. Adam’s workplace also wasn’t affected since the building is also located on a hill, but authorities warned people to stay out of the city due to the extensive damage. Things we normally wouldn’t think twice about – driving on the road, electricity, water, and heat – were suddenly affected, disabled, or damaged. Natural disasters leave a lasting imprint on a society and even our everyday lives. In fact, it wasn’t until this year that some of the roads around my home were even completely finished with repairs. It would be easy to dwell on the negative inconveniences of having to drive out of my way to get places, but I should, in fact, be reminded regularly not to take people or things for granted.

**This section includes content taken from and modified from my original post on my friend, Bonny’s blog.**

Before I started dating Adam, I remember joking to my friends and family that I’d have to date someone just as weird as I am if not weirder. During my wedding rehearsal, I teasingly added this to my speech and said to Adam: “Hello weirder.”  Now Adam does have some strange moments and I’d be lying if I said I didn’t have any quirks, but in truth, Adam’s quirks and weirdness are apart of what makes him unique. His intelligence, character, personality, and yes, even his odd antics are part of the reason I fell in love with him. Your husband is a unique individual and a beautiful blessing from God. He is one of a kind. Choose to celebrate this everyday!

Before all the flooding, it was easy to take things like roads and utilities for granted. It was easy to take something as simple as a hot shower or washing your hands for granted. But once that something isn’t there, doesn’t life get more complicated? Suddenly I’ve realized just how important that something is.
 
How often do you remember to thank your spouse? Last week, I was telling my husband how much I appreciate how often he drives me places and I had never really thanked him before. His smile was priceless. If my husband hadn’t blessed me by driving me to the store, church, work, appointments, etc, if he hadn’t seen that we have a working car, and if he didn’t make sure our car stayed running, I wouldn’t have gone many places over our marriage.
Make a list of all the reasons you are thankful for your husband. Maybe you can only think of a few things right now. Ask God to open your eyes and your heart to reasons to be grateful for your man.
Paul says in 1 Thessalonians 5:16, 18, “Rejoice always… give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”
Today’s Challenge: Don’t forget just how special and precious your spouse is! Lift a prayer of praise to God, thanking Him for putting your husband in your life. If you can, then, go find your husband and give him a hug and a kiss and thank him for being in your life and for choosing to be with you.  If you can’t do that, send him a text or an email like this: You are special to me and I thank God every day I get to be with you.
Bible Passage: 1 Peter 4:7-11
Additional Content: In lieu of additional content, visit the private Facebook page and share with us what makes your husband so special. Click here to sign-up.
Questions to Ponder: Why wait? What can you do right now to ensure you don’t need a natural disaster or some other dire situation to celebrate your husband’s presence and appreciate him? 
Drop a Line

