If At First You Don’t Succeed, Day 8

day 8 30 Dates in November Challenge 2015

I always knew my husband was a gamer. When we got married, he tried to get me into computer and video games. My first impressions weren’t exactly unbiased, given I had little gaming background and always thought they were a waste of time, and my prejudice and frustration got in the way of enjoyment. Underneath my frustration was my pride that couldn’t let me fail and wouldn’t accept my husband was better at something than me.

Once I learned to accept this as apart of my husband’s identity, I began to see gaming in a whole new light. Trust me – gaming is an acquired taste. It takes practice, discipline, concentration, and deductive reasoning. Most of the games my husband plays are complicated and layered. Gaming is a challenge, but it can be fun if I let myself give it an honest try.

I bet there’s something in your marriage that’s like gaming for me. Something you tried and decided to give up on because it was too difficult or discouraging. My grandmother used to say, “If at first you don’t succeed, try, try again.” I don’t think she had X-Box games in mind when she said this. ;o)  Failure leads to pride. No one wants to think of themselves in a negative light or to admit they didn’t succeed, and pride keeps us from trying again.

Failure isn’t fatal or final because God is still God. God is the God of round 2, of second chances, and of redemption.

  • God gave the woman at the well a second chance. She had been married multiple times and was living with a man when she spoke to Jesus, and yet Jesus didn’t ignore or curse her; He welcomed her and she went into the village and “many Samaritans believed in Jesus” (John 4:39).
  • God gave Peter a second chance. Peter completely denied Jesus and yet God used Peter as an important leader in the early Christian church.
  • God gave Paul a second chance. Paul hunted and murdered Christians and yet God used him as one of the greatest apostles, spreading the Gospel message to the nations of the world.

Rejoice with me. God can redeem anyone and anything. Don’t let failure define you, divide you, or destroy you. Failure is an opportunity to try, try again. Failure is a challenge to persevere. Failure is the bedrock for success – a stepping stone to greater things.

Today’s Challenge: Think of something you’ve tried unsuccessfully in your marriage- maybe it’s gaming (like me), a new sex position, or a burned dinner meal. Maybe it was a failed attempt to have weekly date nights, weekly check-in times, or daily devotional times. Maybe it’s a failure to appreciate one another, failure to make sex a priority, or failure to communicate. Pick something today and ask God to redeem it. Make an effort today to give this thing a second chance.

Bible Passage: Philippians 3:12-14; 2 Corinthians 5:17; Lamentations 3:22-23

Additional Content: Visit the private Facebook page for 5 Things Fear Distorts in Marriage, and Taking B.R.A.V.E. Steps to Overcome FearClick here to sign-up.

Share with Us: Name a time you tried something unsuccessfully but you gave it a second chance. Why did you try again? What have you learned from unsuccessful attempts? 

Drop a Line

