Give It Up to Jesus

give it up to jesus

Sometimes the Devil likes to whisper in my ear, “Give up.” Lately, this little destructive phrase has been more like a shout than a whisper. Today I decided to give a reply. I took the Devil’s words and turned them on their head.

“Give it up to Jesus.” 

I’ve spent this year in what has felt like a permanent broken state. I wrecked my car. I struggled in my marriage. I lost a friend. I’m leaving a job. I’ve been lied to, backstabbed, and betrayed. I’ve felt shame, fear, and loss.  I felt hope only to have it pulled out from under me.

When I’m angrily beating my fists against the wall wondering why I opened myself up only to be hurt by people I cared about, Jesus says, “I was betrayed too. I love again anyway.”  

When I’m lying on the floor wondering why I feel empty , Jesus says, “Take my hand and rise. I rose from the ground too.”

When I’m sobbing on the bed in the dead of night wondering why I feel worthless, Jesus says, “I cried out in the middle of the night too. Give me your pain.”

Jesus wants your ugliness, your raw self, your emptiness, depression,fear, worries, anger, and pain. He takes these things and redeems them and heals them.

The Son is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn over all creation. For in Him all things were created: things in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or powers or rulers or authorities; all things have been created through Him and for Him. He is before all things, and in Him all things hold together. And He is the head of the body, the church; he is the beginning and the firstborn from among the dead, so that in everything He might have the supremacy. For God was pleased to have all his fullness dwell in Him , and through Him to reconcile to Himself all things, whether things on earth or things in heaven, by making peace through His blood, shed on the cross.” Colossians 1:15-20 

I read these words today and I feel God’s grace, truth, and love wash over me.

My plans aren’t His plans. I planned to have an elaborate 30 Dates in November Challenge. I planned to say I wasn’t going to offer the challenge this year. But this is the Devil whispering in my ear, “Give up.”

I’m not giving up. I’m not overwhelming myself. I’m giving it up to Jesus.

God can redeem anything. God can use anything for His glory. I hope and pray He can use my content this November for His glory and for your benefit. I plan to offer a very simplistic challenge on my blog only without additional email content. In the new year, I hope to offer a challenge similar in format to my previous challenges.  More details to come.

I don’t know what my future holds. There are many unknowns and unanswered questions and mashed-up feelings trying to get sorted out.

But autumn is here. While many see autumn as a foreshadowing of winter to come, I see autumn as a beautiful reprieve in the midst of two busy seasons vying for our complete attention. Autumn is a reminder of the cycle of life – of birth, death, and rebirth. This is a great time to be alive! Hope is on the horizon.

1 Comment

  1. Nannette

    I read this post the day it came out and wanted to take the time to tell you how much it touched me. The timing was perfect. I too have experienced many trials in the current season of life and have managed to stay close to God and keep trucking on.
    Recently, I decided to partake in a 21 day Daniel Fast in order to hone in on more of what God wants for me, even in the midst of trial. I experienced a slowdown in my connection with God during the fast. A kind of separation, “you’re on your own kid” type of feeling, once my fast began. I could hear God, but only in the echoes. I pressed on and in, deeper and received various revelation in my life from God. As time went on, I became more aware of the spiritual battle that I was in. I fluctuated between peace and then misery, tears and heartache. The day before you posted….I realized I was experiencing a depression. I was very dismayed and frustrated as I have been clinging to Jesus; in the word, on my knees, devoted to my fast, etc…and how could I have fallen to the point of depression? My prayers now felt like dry, empty words I was trying to push out of my mouth…out of my spirit. I was reminded of Jesus fasting for 40 days and Satan tempting him. I felt like I was in a wilderness of my own. I truly did feel like giving up; giving up on the fast, giving up on waiting for God…giving up on my trust and faith in Him. I wanted to lay down somewhere and just let it all pass by. I knew it was the enemy but I felt so weak and unable to fight. The pain and spiritual weakness were very intense.
    I asked friends to pray for me, as I was no longer able to pray for myself.
    And then….I read this post. It broke me. I literally broke down crying in the midst of it’s truth. The fog began to lift gradually but throughout that day, it completely cleared. Thank you for being the words, the truth and the light that I needed to hear that day. God used you to pull me out of the depths and get my footing again. I completed my fast yesterday and am once again, humbled and amazed at how God works. ~Thank you

Drop a Line

