The Secure Wife, Day 17

Day 17

It’s been snowing like crazy here. All week long the temperatures have barely risen above 20 and often drop below 0 at night. It’s been an experience driving in fog, ice, and snow, but I’m grateful that I prepared. Adam and I talked about driving in bad weather conditions before this week. I have my little emergency kit in the trunk. I picked up below-freezing windshield-wiper fluid and stuck my ice scrapper and snow brush in the vehicle. I’ve been leaving for work earlier than normal to allow for traffic and weather conditions. I’ve been wearing long-sleeved shirts, scarves, hats, gloves, and my heavy winter coat. I know you can’t prepare for everything, but I do think that’s it good to be a forward thinker.

Proverbs 31:21 says, “When it snows, she has no fear for her household; for all of them are clothed in scarlet.”

The Proverbs-31 wife is prepared for bad weather, but I also think, she’s prepared in general for trouble in life. She doesn’t have to be afraid because she knows she rests secure in the arms of Christ, and her household is in God’s hands.

Life likes to throw curveballs at us, things we weren’t expecting. While I know it’s not good to worry, I often do because I like to be so prepared. Adam has been helping me to remember to enjoy the moment and live right now instead of constantly looking forward.

I’m grateful for the Lord’s strength and that He already goes before us. Psalm 18:32 says, “It is God who arms me with strength and keeps my way secure.” Proverbs 14:26 says, “Whoever fears the Lord has a secure fortress, and for their children it will be a refuge.” 

We have hope and security in Christ and this helps prepare us for times of trouble. We can trust God to follow through on His Word. His Word is true and secure.

Hebrews 6:10-20 says,

God is not unjust; He will not forget your work and the love you have shown Him as you have helped His people and continue to help them. We want each of you to show this same diligence to the very end, so that what you hope for may be fully realized. We do not want you to become lazy, but to imitate those who through faith and patience inherit what has been promised. When God made his promise to Abraham, since there was no one greater for him to swear by, he swore by himself, saying, “I will surely bless you and give you many descendants.” And so after waiting patiently, Abraham received what was promised. People swear by someone greater than themselves, and the oath confirms what is said and puts an end to all argument. Because God wanted to make the unchanging nature of his purpose very clear to the heirs of what was promised, he confirmed it with an oath. God did this so that, by two unchangeable things in which it is impossible for God to lie,we who have fled to take hold of the hope set before us may be greatly encouraged. We have this hope as an anchor for the soul, firm and secure. It enters the inner sanctuary behind the curtain, where our forerunner, Jesus, has entered on our behalf.He has become a high priest forever, in the order of Melchizedek.” 

If this hymn had been around in the time of the Proverbs-31 wife, I’m sure she would’ve been humming it while she worked to prepare her family for winter and the “harsh storms” of life.

1. My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness;
I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
But wholly lean on Jesus’ name.
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

2. When darkness veils His lovely face,
I rest on His unchanging grace;
In every high and stormy gale
My anchor holds within the veil.
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

3. His oath, His covenant, and blood
Support me in the whelming flood;
When every earthly prop gives way,
He then is all my Hope and Stay.
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

4. When He shall come with trumpet sound,
Oh, may I then in Him be found,
Clothed in His righteousness alone,
Faultless to stand before the throne!
On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

My Hope is Built on Nothing Less by Edward Mote 

Rest securely in the arms of Jesus, dear wife. Build your hope on Christ and Christ alone, and He will help you to withstand the storms of life.

Now over to your email to do the daily challenges! 

BHE 30 Dates in November Challenge button 2

This post is Day 17 of the 30 Dates in November Challenge 2014. Sign-up via email. Receive daily challenges, additional encouragement, and extra goodies. 

share with us

How does resting securely in God help you to weather the storms of life? 

Join the conversation on Twitter: #securewife. Be sure to tag@BecomingHisEve

1 Comment

  1. This series is still awesome.

Drop a Line

