The Hardworking Wife, Day 12

The Hardworking Wife from Becoming His Eve

I come from 6 generations of Christian women who worked hard to take care of  their families. I am so blessed to have such a wonderful heritage. Hard work has been instilled in me since birth, and I’ve never been one to shy away from it. I think this is part of the reason I struggle with the perfectionism complex. I feel the need to do everything perfectly and go above and beyond the call, and yet if I can’t get there or if I fail to get there, I beat up on myself and revert to laziness because why try if you can’t succeed?

I wonder if the Proverbs-31 wife ever felt like this. We know that she was a human woman, so she was bound to have her days where she tried to do it all and failed miserably. The Bible isn’t clear, however, the Bible is clear that she didn’t give up. She was a hardworking woman, enterprising in business, managing her home, caring for her family. We can learn much from her example.

Proverbs 31:17 says, “She sets about her work vigorously; her arms are strong for her tasks.” 

Work comes in many different forms. Some of us work outside the home to supplement our household income. Some of us work outside the home and don’t necessarily need to, but we enjoy working. Others of us work from home. Others of us volunteer in our communities, churches, and schools. Some of us stay at home full-time. Some of us have kids. Some of us don’t. Some of us may even be retired empty-nesters. Regardless of what kind of work you do, all of your work is valuable.

Proverbs 14:23 says, “In all hard work, there is profit…” Ecclesiastes 2:24 says, “there is nothing better for a person than to eat, drink, and find satisfaction (and enjoyment) in their own work.”

Have you ever noticed people tend to define you by what you do? One of the first things people ask when they meet you is “what do you do?” When I was unemployed, this question sincerely bugged me. I decided to take the opportunity to tell people I was a housewife and I enjoyed it. I really did. I still do, even though I teach outside the home now also. Our first calling is to love the Lord our God with all our heart, soul, mind, and strength, regardless of whether we hold a paid job outside the home. Money makes no difference in the eyes of the Lord. All work done in His Name and for His kingdom has value. We are defined by who we are in Christ, not what we do in this world, and how we work for the Lord and for others matters.

The problem with the modern-day view of work is we often look at work as a means for financial gain (even if it’s just to pay the bills). I challenge you today to view work as an invitation to further God’s kingdom. Work hard for the Lord, not for the approval of the world, not to gain nice things, not even to just pay bills, but to bring God the glory.

Learn from Paul’s example and words in Acts 20:32-35 (MSG)

Now I’m turning you over to God, our marvelous God whose gracious Word can make you into what he wants you to be and give you everything you could possibly need in this community of holy friends. I’ve never, as you so well know, had any taste for wealth or fashion. With these bare hands I took care of my own basic needs and those who worked with me. In everything I’ve done, I have demonstrated to you how necessary it is to work on behalf of the weak and not exploit them. You’ll not likely go wrong here if you keep remembering that our Master said, ‘You’re far happier giving than getting.’”

A wife of good character is a hardworking woman, regardless of the trade or task, bringing glory to God in all she does. 

 

Now over to your email to do the daily challenges! 

BHE 30 Dates in November Challenge button 2

This post is Day 12 of the 30 Dates in November Challenge 2014. Sign-up via email. Receive daily challenges, additional encouragement, and extra goodies. 

share with us

How does viewing your work through the eyes of God help you to serve the Lord and others? 

Join the conversation on Twitter: #hardworkingwife. Be sure to tag@BecomingHisEve

Drop a Line

