The Wife Who Rises with the Son, Day 10

Day 10

What’s your morning routine? Mine is pretty straightforward on weekdays. I wake up, shut off my alarm, check my weather app, use the restroom, get dressed, put on make-up, fix my breakfast and coffee, eat it if I have the chance to, kiss my husband goodbye, and head out the door on the way to work.

Proverbs 31:15 says, “She gets up while it is still night; she provides food for her family, and portions for her female servants.”

  • The Proverbs-31 wife gets up in the mornings. 

Simple, right? She’s not lazy. She doesn’t sleep late letting her family fend for themselves. She gets up to work hard. I can’t imagine this verse applying to the Proverbs-31 wife:

How long will you lie there, you sluggard? When will you get up from your sleep? A little sleep, a little slumber, a little folding of the hands to rest— and poverty will come on you like a thief and scarcity like an armed man.” Proverbs 6:9-11

I think back to the early days of my marriage. I was so lazy. I never wanted to get out of bed. I didn’t care if my husband couldn’t find food. I didn’t care if I didn’t see him before work. I was a sluggard, and my marriage was impoverished for it. I was robbing my husband (and myself) of precious couple-time and an opportunity for service.

  • The Proverbs-31 wife knows her priorities when she wakes up. 

Lately, I’ve been trying to order my AM priorities. I set my alarm a little earlier to snuggle with my husband and spend a few moments praying, “Lord, it’s your day. Let me follow Your way.” It’s a simple prayer, but it gets me in the right frame of mind.

Some mornings my husband tags along with me to work so he can get a ride from his carpool. I appreciate this sacrifice greatly. To show my appreciation, I’ve been trying to make my husband’s lunch and set out his clothes for him to save him time in the morning, giving him those few extra precious moments of sleep he desires. On the way to work, I ask him how I can pray for him. Since starting this, I’ve noticed my day goes so much better.

I want to start my day with God first. I also want to start the day on a good note with my husband (and he so appreciates my snuggling).

In the morning, Lord, you hear my voice; in the morning I lay my requests before You and wait expectantly.” Psalm 5:3 

Very early in the morning, while it was still dark, Jesus got up, left the house and went off to a solitary place, where He prayed.” Mark 1:35

  • The Proverbs-31 wife focuses outward. 

When she wakes up, the Proverbs-31 wife isn’t focused on herself. She’s focused on serving others. She works to meet a basic need for her family – food.

Food is very important to God. Jesus tells His disciples if they love Him to feed and take care of His sheep (Matthew 21:15-17). He wants us to help meet each other’s needs.

  • The Proverbs-31 wife is productive. 

Studies show that people who wake up earlier are more successful. I’m more productive when I get up earlier. I don’t feel rushed. Does this mean I never sleep in? No, and I so appreciate my husband letting me lie in bed longer on Saturdays. However, I try not to waste time by lounging unnecessarily.

Go to the ant, you sluggard. consider its ways and be wise.” Proverbs 6:6

  • The Proverbs-31 wife is a cheerful worker and giver.

Whoever sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and whoever sows generously will also reap generously. Each of you should give what you have decided in your heart to give, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver.And God is able to bless you abundantly, so that in all things at all times, having all that you need, you will abound in every good work.” 2 Corinthians 9:6-8

 It doesn’t matter if you wake up at 5AM, 8AM, or 10AM. What matters is your heart.  Rise with the Son, my sister! 

Now over to your email to do the daily challenges! 

BHE 30 Dates in November Challenge button 2

This post is Day 10 of the 30 Dates in November Challenge 2014. Sign-up via email. Receive daily challenges, additional encouragement, and extra goodies. 

share with us

What’s your morning routine look like? Do you give time to God and your husband? How’s your heart and frame of mind in the mornings?   

Join the conversation on Twitter: #risewiththeSon  Be sure to tag@BecomingHisEve

1 Comment

    Trackbacks

    1. The Strong Wife, Day 13 | Becoming His Eve

    Drop a Line

