The Diligent Wife, Day 9

Day 9 Photo Credit Juan Gnecco from FreeDigitalPhotos.net

What’s taking so long?” the woman leaned over the counter at Wendy’s and yelled to the employees angrily. “I’ve been waiting five minutes for my food. And these fries? They are ice cold!

This is what I heard a few weeks ago when I walked into one of my favorite fast-food establishments. I happened to be running late to worship team practice, but I didn’t mind. After all, I needed to eat. I was concerned though since this woman had been waiting awhile for her food that maybe I’d have to wait too.

Isn’t it silly? Five minutes seems too long to wait for food? We live in a world of food where we expect instant gratification – microwaves, fast food, frozen dinners, drive-thrus. But God wants us to slow down for a minute.

Proverbs 31:14 says, “She is like the merchant ships, bringing her food from afar.” When I first read this passage, I thought how in the world am I going to equate this to the modern wife? Does this mean the excellent wife needs to travel across oceans to get the best food for her family? Well, that’s not practical. What kind of challenge am I going to write? Be like a merchant ship! Every woman’s dream.

Sarcasm and skepticism aside, I dove into the meaning behind this passage, and I did find a few things I thought were beneficial.

Sunny Shell of My Second Love writes,

Merchant ships are very interesting. While they are not the fastest means of transporting goods from one area to another, they are the most cost-effective and efficient, especially for perishable goods like food… Jet airplanes can transport food faster than merchant ships, so why are ships the preferred method? The answer is because ships can carry a greater load and use less energy and resources than jet airplanes. It would take an airplane many trips to carry the same load a merchant ship can carry all at once.”

I like the Message version of this verse. “She’s like a trading ship that sails to faraway places and brings back exotic surprises.” 

TheologyofWork.org says, “The Valiant Woman plans ahead… she doesn’t depend on last minute convenience purchases of questionable quality and cost.

The Proverbs-31 wife

  • uses cost-effective and efficient methods to feed her family well 
  • isn’t afraid to spend a little more or go a little further for higher quality food 
  • enjoys giving her family delicacies every once in awhile, and surprising them with good treats

Overall, the Proverbs-31 wife wants what’s best for her family.

I share Sunny’s concerns. I am often lazy and tired. I don’t always want to make dinner after a long day at work, driving, blogging, cleaning the house, etc. I often opt for quick freezer pizzas or convenient “let’s eat out” excuses. I don’t think I need to cook every night to be like the Proverbs-31 wife, but I can learn from her example and put a little extra planning into my meals to provide cost-effective, high quality, delicious meals for my husband regularly.

Proverbs 21:5 says, “the plans of the diligent lead surely to abundance, but everyone who is hasty comes only to want.”

Humble planning ahead is a skill the diligent wife should cultivate.

  • The diligent wife manages her finances well so she doesn’t make impulse buys and gets the most for her money.
  • The diligent wife plans her meals so she can make the most of her food purchases, without wasting food.
  • The diligent wife honors her husband by making delicious, nutritious meals whenever she can.

Like a merchant ship, the diligent wife might be a little slower, but investing long-term  in healthy, quality choices is wise and rewarding.

Now over to your email to do the daily challenges! 

BHE 30 Dates in November Challenge button 2

This post is Day 9 of the 30 Dates in November Challenge 2014. Sign-up via email. Receive daily challenges, additional encouragement, and extra goodies. 

share with us

How do you plan ahead for your family and still be humble? How do you wisely budget your time and money to honor your husband? 

Join the conversation on Twitter: #diligentwife  Be sure to tag@BecomingHisEve

1 Comment

    Trackbacks

    1. The Strong Wife, Day 13 | Becoming His Eve

    Drop a Line

