The Best Marriage Advice I Ever Received

image

My bridal shower was one of fun, fellowship, good food, good friends, and plenty of laughter to go around. There was one serious moment when my maid of honor invited my friends to give me advice and encouragement for my upcoming nuptials. Most of the advice I’ve forgotten, but my pastor’s wife said something to me that honestly has stuck with me.

Be continually gracious with your husband’s sin, and be continually ruthless with your own sin.

This reminder could not have come at a better time for me. Yesterday Adam and I had a huge fight. I was so upset that after I dropped him off at work, I drove around the city for awhile, crying out to Jesus. I asked Him if He heard me, if He cared, and if He cried with me. I knew I was being selfish. I knew my actions weren’t loving. I was so frustrated at myself, desperately needing grace and not wanting to ask for it.

I turned on the radio and K-LOVE was playing No Man Is an Island by Tenth Avenue North. The first words I heard were:
I see fear in your eyes
There’s no safety here
Oh, my friend, let Me in
I will share your tears

If that wasn’t confirmation enough, after I drove back to Adam’s work to apologize and hug him, I was walking back to my car, thinking about how I’d have to fill up on gas before leaving town. As I pulled away from the curb, I was amazed. My gas gauge read between half and a quarter tank, exactly the amount I’d need to get home. It had read red line when I parked. I was so overwhelmed with God’s love. Here I felt like I was wasting gas and God was telling me, “My child, seeking Me is never a waste of time.” Returning to extend my husband grace wasn’t a waste of time.

“‘My grace is sufficient for you, for My power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on Me.” 2 Corinthians 12:9

“Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience. Bear with each other and forgive one another if any of you has a grievance against someone. Forgive as the Lord forgave you. And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity.” Colossians 3:12-14

image

This post is apart of a 4 week series in the CMBA Blog 2014 Words of Wisdom Challenge. This week is words of wisdom from friends. Come back next week for words of wisdom from blogs or books.

Drop a Line

