When It Seems Impossible: 30 Dates in November Challenge

When It Seems Impossible

How many of you wives consider yourselves as noble and virtuous? How many of you wives sew your own clothes, cook all your own food, clean your entire houses, get up before dawn, buy fields to plant, help the poor and needy, and still have time to be the perfect wife and mother? 

I’m guessing most, if not, all of you, would say no. So why did I choose Proverbs 31: A Wife of Good Character for my theme for the 30 Dates in November Challenge?

Let me begin by sharing (a modified) something I wrote back in 2012 for my blog readers:

  • The Proverbs 31 woman is mentioned in the Bible for a reason. All Scripture has a purpose – and I believe this chapter is to teach us about living for God in the day-to-day and godly womanhood.
  • The Proverbs 31 woman is meant to inspire not set an impossible standard. You could read all the self-help, marriage, and parenting books and blogs in the world, but nothing substitutes for the Bible. If you want to know how to be a godly wife and mother, read God’s Word. Don’t give up simply because this woman is intimidating. Use her story as a springboard of encouragement to grow in the Lord and love your husband even more.
  • You can glean wisdom from the Proverbs 31 woman even if it doesn’t appear to apply to everyday modern 21st century life, even if you haven’t been married long, and/or even if you don’t have children.

God has more for you than you realize! You can do more than you think. This challenge is designed to stretch you in your walk with the Lord and step outside your comfort zone in your marriage. 

Wherever you’re at in your marriage – old or young, long or short, passionate or fizzling, loving or lucky-if-we-don’t-argue-today, walking with God together or walking separately, thriving or struggling – wherever you are, ask God to meet you where you’re at. Perhaps your marriage is hanging on by a thread. Perhaps your faith in God is wearing thin. You may be saying: Why would I even do this challenge? 

God is still God and He’s seated on the throne on your darkest and brightest days. God’s truth still stands in the valley or on the mountain peak. God can take your marriage to the next level, whatever that looks like in your life, if you are willing to go where He calls you. If doing this challenge is intimidating, if you’re saying to yourself, “I can’t,” stop looking at the end result. Start looking at the step you’re on today and take it one day at a time.

Put your faith into action this November. Put your love into action during this challenge. Dare to take a stand for marriage. Dare to say to your husband, “You are worth fighting for!” Dare to live and love as you never have before. Because with God, nothing is impossible! 

live and grow

Read 2 Timothy 3:16-17 and ask God to help you to view what His Word says as important and applicable to your life and marriage.

Pray: Lord, use this time in the month of November to help me see beyond myself and to what you are calling me to, to what you have to offer. I want to take my marriage to the next step, whatever that is You have for me. I want to actively and lovingly pursue my husband with love, passion, and devotion. I know that the days won’t always be easy, and the Devil will want to attack with a vengeance. I confess I have been fearful in this [INSERT area of marriage], and it’s been holding me (and/or us) back. Lord, forgive me and show me how to step beyond my fear. 

I pray that You would

  • to MEET me in the middle of my mess and brokenness,
  • to PROTECT me from the lies of Satan and the temptations of the Devil,
  • to ENCOURAGE me when I am disheartened and don’t see the difference I’m making,
  • to CLOTHE me with Your strength to keep going on the days where I’m weak,
  • to RAISE me up on the days when I am cut down,
  • to FILL me up on the days when I feel empty,
  • to MOTIVATE me on the days when I don’t feel like getting out of bed,
  • to LOVE me on the days when I feel unloved,
  • to HELP me to love my husband even when he’s so unlovable,
  • to WORK through me on the days when I feel like giving up. 

Thank You for already going before me and already being at the end of the challenge. Thank You for Your Word and for sharing Your wisdom with me through the Proverbs 31 woman. Thank You for giving me the wisdom and the endurance to love my husband passionately and purposefully. In Christ’s Name, Amen. 

*Share this prayer with your prayer/accountability partner.

Love in Action: What is one thing you can do today to step outside your comfort zone and better love your husband? 

wpid-share-with-us.jpg

Share with Us: What do you think will be the hardest part of the challenge? What are you most looking forward to in the challenge? How can we, in the BHE community, be praying for you?

related reading

From BHE: 

From Around the Web: 

BHE 30 Dates in November Challenge are you ready button

This post is apart of the 30 Dates in November 2014 Challenge. See more here.

1 Comment

    Trackbacks

    1. It’s Not Too Late: 30 Dates in November Challenge | Becoming His Eve

    Drop a Line

