Rejoice with Thanksgiving, Day 28

Day 28 Rejoice with Thanksgiving Photo Credit: Alicia

Adam’s and my first Thanksgiving together was pretty crazy. My sister had come for a visit, so it was just the three of us.We tried to do a fabulous brunch with the parade, and then the big dinner. Unfortunately, since I had never prepared a whole Thanksgiving dinner by myself, we had no idea how to time everything. We didn’t end up getting dinner on the table until 10 o’clock at night. Still, everything tasted wonderful, we had lots of laughs, and my sister and I even managed to pull of a decent presentation of all the food.

Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday. I love the food, family get-togethers, fellowship, and fun. I love the tradition of watching at least part of the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade over breakfast. But most of all I love another opportunity to be reminded of how blessed I am and how great my God is.

As Thanksgiving is tomorrow (although this challenge gets posted 1 day early), I will keep today’s and tomorrow’s posts brief.

On Sunday, my pastor gave a wonderful sermon on Giving Thanks. You often hear “I’m thankful for,” but do you ever hear “I’m thankful to?” My pastor said it this way: “Being grateful is being thankful with a person attached.” Everything we have comes from God. Everything we have is built on Jesus Christ because without Him, we have nothing. Jesus Christ is our Chief Cornerstone – the central point of our lives. Without Him, everything crumbles.

It’s okay to be thankful for things, people, places, events, etc, but we have to remember to whom we are thankful – the God of all the Universe.

Don’t be deceived, my dear brothers and sisters. Every good and perfect gift is from above,coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.” James 1:16-17

You could attribute your gifts and blessings to your own hard work, luck, your opportunities, and your risks, but in all truth, none of that would’ve happened without God. Don’t be deceived. Every good and perfect gift comes from the Father of Light.

This year, be thankful for and thankful to your Lord Jesus Christ! 

Today’s Challenge (November 28th): Thankful For & To

*We did this exercise during morning worship service last Sunday, and I loved it so much I’m sharing it with you. 

Fill in the blanks. Write 1-3 things in each category you are thankful for, and then finish your time in prayer. I highly recommend doing this exercise with your husband, or your whole family if you like.

  • I’m thankful for the mundane… the little things in life that you normally take for granted (i.e. toothbrush, technology, car, etc). Thank You Jesus!
  • I’m thankful for the extraordinary…the big things in life where you witnessed/experienced the miraculous blessings of God (i.e. work promotion, marriage, birth of a child, etc). Thank You Jesus!
  • I’m thankful for the hard people… the people who have been difficult in my life, either through which experience I grew in my relationship with God or I learned something important (i.e. over-critical boss, strained relationship with a parent/child, etc). Thank You Jesus!
  • I’m thankful for the thing that didn’t happen… something that should’ve happened or might’ve happened and didn’t (i.e. an accident, job loss, an affair, etc). Thank You Jesus!
  • I’m thankful for the people in my life… the people that love and support me unconditionally (i.e. my husband, my children, my parents, my siblings, my church, etc). Thank You Jesus!
  • I’m thankful for answered prayers… where God has answered the cries of my heart (i.e. health, savings, improved relationships, etc). Thank You Jesus!
  • I’m thankful for unanswered prayers… an area of my life where I prayed for something and didn’t get it and God gave me something better or protected me or taught me something important (i.e. a  move, job, new home, etc). Thank You Jesus!
  • I’m thankful for the unexpected… something I never saw coming that has been a wonderful blessing (i.e. a new friend, money to pay bills, a gift from someone else). Thank You Jesus!

Thanksgiving challenge from Becoming His Eve

Today’s Prayer

I praise You, oh most glorious Father of lights.Thank You for never changing like shifting shadows do. I have so much to be thankful for – and I want to remember who I’m thankful to – You, Lord Jesus Christ. God, I am so thankful for… (fill in the blanks or use the above exercise as a guide). Thank You for my husband. Lord, I pray that You would help us (fill in the blank). Thank You for blessing me this Thanksgiving. All praise, honor, and glory to You, Amen!

Take it a Step Further

Make a list of 10-15 reasons why you are thankful for your husband. Hand write it on a piece of pretty stationary. Give it to your husband on Thanksgiving. (You can also have it framed if you’re feeling more ambitious.)

Share with Us

What are you thankful for and how can we praise Jesus with you? 

30 Dates in November Challenge

This post is Day 28 in of the  30 Dates in November Challenge

1 Comment

    Trackbacks

    1. Now What? Day 31 and Beyond | Becoming His Eve

    Drop a Line

