Where’s the ‘Good’ in Good Friday?

Today is Good Friday. I always wondered why we call it “Good” Friday because it was a terrible day. A day when Jesus was betrayed by one of His own disciples, a friend. A day where He was disowned by a friend. A day when He was tried in front of courts illegally. A day when He was turned over to be crucified by His own people. A day where He was beaten, humiliated, made to wear a crown of thorns and a purple robe, made to carry His cross up to Calvary’s hill, made to die an excruciating death.

Where’s the good in “Good” Friday?

Surely He took up our pain and bore our suffering, yet we considered him punished by God, stricken by him, and afflicted. But He was pierced for our transgressions, He was crushed for our iniquities; the punishment that brought us peace was on Him, and by His wounds we are healed. We all, like sheep, have gone astray, each of us has turned to our own way, and the Lord has laid on him the iniquity of us all.” Isaiah 53:4-6 

He was pierced for our transgressions
He was crushed for our sins
The punishment that brought us peace was upon Him
And by His wounds, by His wounds we are healed

We are healed by Your sacrifice
And the life that You gave
We are healed for You paid the price
By Your grace we are saved
We are saved

~By His Wounds by Mac Powell, Mark Hall, Steven Curtis Chapman, Brian Littrell

What can wash away my sin?
Nothing but the blood of Jesus;
What can make me whole again?
Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

Refrain

Oh! precious is the flow
That makes me white as snow;
No other fount I know,
Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

For my pardon, this I see,
Nothing but the blood of Jesus;
For my cleansing this my plea,
Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

Refrain

Nothing can for sin atone,
Nothing but the blood of Jesus;
Naught of good that I have done,
Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

Refrain

This is all my hope and peace,
Nothing but the blood of Jesus;
This is all my righteousness,
Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

Refrain

Now by this I’ll overcome—
Nothing but the blood of Jesus,
Now by this I’ll reach my home—
Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

Refrain

Glory! Glory! This I sing—
Nothing but the blood of Jesus,
All my praise for this I bring—
Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

~Nothing But the Blood by Robert Lowry 

In Christ alone my hope is found
He is my light, my strength, my song
This Cornerstone, this solid ground
Firm through the fiercest drought and storm

What heights of love, what depths of peace
When fears are stilled, when strivings cease
My Comforter, my All in All
Here in the love of Christ I stand

In Christ alone, who took on flesh
Fullness of God in helpless Babe
This gift of love and righteousness
Scorned by the ones He came to save

Til on that cross as Jesus died
The wrath of God was satisfied
For every sin on Him was laid
Here in the death of Christ I live, I live
~In Christ Alone by Keith Getty 

With a loud cry, Jesus breathed His last. The curtain of the temple was torn in two from top to bottom. And when the centurion,who stood there in front of Jesus, saw how He died, he said, ‘Surely this man was the Son of God!'” Mark 15:37-39

Where’s the good in Good Friday? I love today because of Jesus’ sacrifice. I live today because of Jesus’ sacrifice. Go and live your life today in reflection and meditation for what Christ did for you! 

2 Comments

  1. Without the Christmas birth, there would be no Easter “rebirth”. Beyond the Easter bunny and egg hunts, they have not been able to commercialize Easter as they have done Christmas. While observing and celebrating the significance of Easter, let us take time to reflect upon Christmas without the misdirection of commerce urging us to not forget to give to those we love. Christ is the true Christmas “gift that keeps on giving”; the one gift that should bear the tag “open me first” above all others; the one gift that truly is “priceless”; the one and only living sentiment “when you want to send the very best.” We are truly blessed that His blood sacrifice enabled us to be adopted into His family. Christ gave His all for us. What gifts of love are you giving to honor His memory in return?

    • Amen! Great thoughts userdand! I’m so glad you shared with us. Easter is about what Christ has done for us, but there would be no Easter story without Christ first being born as a babe. I’ve been extending hospitality to others – working to love on people because they are precious gifts from God in my life, and Jesus truly loved people. I could never perfectly love as He did and does, but I do pray that God daily conforms me into His image.

Drop a Line

