Broken Mess, Easter Thursday


*Originally posted as Broken – Love Poured Out 

When Jesus was in Bethany right before His crucifixion, a woman came up to him and poured a jar of expensive perfume on Him, wiping His feet with her hair – the ultimate act of service. When the Judas Iscariot rebuked her, believing she should have sold the costly bottle and given the money tot he poor, Jesus stopped him and said,

“Leave her alone. Why are you bothering her? She has done a beautiful thing to me. The poor you will always have with you, and you can help them any time you want. But you will not always have me. She did what she could. She poured perfume on my body beforehand to prepare for my burial. Truly I tell you, wherever the gospel is preached throughout the world, what she has done will also be told, in memory of her.” 

Wow! Not only did Jesus uplift this woman because of her beautiful act of service, but He also said that wherever the gospel would be preached throughout the world, her story would also be told in memory of her. The woman broke the jar of perfume so she could kindly serve Jesus. We to, like the jar, are to be broken before Christ, offering up our everything to Him, serving Him with kindness and reverence, and in turn, showing great kindness and mercy to others.

Jesus defended the defenseless; He healed the wounded and the sick; He raised people from the dead; and He told of salvation and the kingdom of heaven through storytelling. He didn’t do any of this to gain favor, glory, or power. He did this because He genuinely cared about people and treated them with dignity, kindness, and respect.

Shortly after this, Jesus washed His own disciples feet, the lowest of tasks. He humbled Himself to care for these men because “Having loved His own who were in the world, He loved them to the end” (John 13:1). 

When Adam and I were still engaged, I was at the apartment while he was at work trying to get some studying done, trying to get some quiet away from campus. I was upset about something, and I remember being frustrated as I couldn’t remember the last time I had showered. My feet were black and dirty from walking around in flip flops, and on top of everything, I lost my engagement ring. I panicked and started crying as I searched high and low. I was convinced that this was some kind of sign that I wasn’t supposed to marry Adam, and I remember crying out to God, begging Him for a sign of clarity and asking Him to forgive my lack of faith. When Adam came home, I was lying on the floor distraught. He didn’t say a word, but he picked me up, carried me to the bathroom, and washed my feet. If that wasn’t a sign, if that wasn’t love, I don’t know what is. Adam demonstrated Christlike kindness toward me and it was such a beautiful picture of how much he and Christ loved me, enough to humble themselves on my behalf.

Be broken and humbled before the Lord. Read John 13:1-17 together bare foot outside in the grass. What a beautiful picture of service Jesus gives us! Today, walk your spouse to the bathroom and wash each other’s feet in remembrance of what Jesus did and to carry on the tradition.

How is God calling you to show kindness to your husband? 

Think of one thing you can do today to go out of your way to be kind to your husband. Start small. You don’t have to tackle a mountain all in one day.

When we serve the Lord, we are called to give our all – even our most expensive and precious possessions.

What perfume jars are in your life that you need to offer to the Lord? How an you bless your husband today by humbling yourself as Christ did? 

Jesus loved me in my broken mess…

made me whole and pure…

I cling to life in His death selfless…

…and a life forever sure!

Linking Up With: 

Thriving-Thursdays

Proverbs31thursdays

3 Comments

  1. That sounds like an excellent married-couple tradition for showing humility and willing service to the one you love. Thank you for suggesting it.

    • I love the tradition! You’re welcome!

Trackbacks

  1. Extending Kindness in the Bedroom, Day 19 | Becoming His Eve

Drop a Line

