Shooting for Brownie Points, 5 More Ways to Feed on the Bread of Life, Day 7

*Editor’s Note: My apologies for getting this one out late. Internet issues still.*

Last Sunday, a thought popped into my head during Communion. Jesus Christ, the Bread of Life, was torn asunder on my behalf so that He may live in me and I may live in Him. The little piece of bread I tear off the communion loaf represents Christ in me, the sustenance and new life I’ve been given. Wow! It wasn’t that I didn’t understand communion before, but it hit me like a ton of bricks, a poginant, beautiful realization – Christ is in me and because He lives, I live!

communion

Today’s Valentine’s challenge is Feed on the Word.

A marriage that is grounded in the Word of God, a marriage that daily feeds on the Bread of Life, is a marriage that will thrive. In John 6:27, Jesus says, “Do not work for food that spoils, but for food that endures to eternal life, which the Son of Man will give you. For on him God the Father has placed his seal of approval.” Then in verse 33, Jesus declares, “I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never go hungry, and whoever believes in me will never be thirsty…

Are you working for eternity? How often do you just sit and meditate on the brutal and beautiful death of our Lord Jesus Christ – and that because He died and rose again – you have eternity in your heart?

Last Christmas, I wrote three blog posts on the Bread of Life. I shared 5 ways to Feed on the Bread of Life and 5 Ways to Feed Your Marriage. I encourage you to read these original posts.

Today I share 5 more ways to Feed on the Bread of Life…

1. Meditate on Scripture together. Read a passage of God’s Word and then sit in silence together, maybe holding hands, and reflect on what God has been telling you.

2. Memorize Scripture together. Set a time limit that works for you. For me, I spend the first day reading the memory verse and writing it out a bunch of times. Day 2 – I read the context of the passage. Day 3 – I cross-reference. Day 4 – I read several different versions of the same verse. Day 5 – I meditate on the verse and listen to what God has to say. Day 6 – I pray the verse into my life, and write my own version of the verse in my prayer journal. 6 days may be too long, or it may be too short. Trade off picking verses for Scripture memory and then decide how long you want to take to memorize it.

3. Pray Scripture in your life. Struggling with anger? Have your husband pray Psalm 4:4; Ephesians 4:31-5:2; and James 1:19-20 over you. Filled with anxiety? Pray these verses with your spouse: Isaiah 41:10; Matthew 6:33-34; Philippians 4:6-7. Rejoicing over the blessings in your life? Praise God together through these verses in Scripture: 1 Chronicles 16:10; Psalm 9:2; and Psalm 16:9

4. Hold each other accountable. I tend to be irritable and unproductive when I haven’t spent time in God’s Word. Adam and I remind each other at the end of the night to spend time with God individually if we haven’t already and when we struggle with a sin, we work to confess it to one another and ask for prayer, wisdom, and support.

5. Worship in song together. Adam likes to turn on the stereo to the Christian radio station when we drive and we meditate on the words together, and sometimes sing along. The old hymns in particular are a favorite of mine because of they are so deeply rooted in Biblical truth.

*This cute idea was again inspired by Pinterest*

Shooting for Brownie Points 

Pick up a box of brownies (or make them from scratch if you’re ambitious like I am) to make with your spouse. Cooking in the kitchen together can be a lot of fun. Put on some motivational background music (something fun and light – I like the jazzy sounds of Mr. Scruff. Dim the lights if you can get away with it, and whisk the night away.

 

Drop a Line

