Christmas Change of Plans & The Door, Emmanuel, and Friend

Image

Hello readers,

I hope you are all having a wonderful Christmas season. I’ve gotten behind with Advent devotionals for you. I apologize for my inconsistency. This month has been hectic with the holidays – family, friends, chores, shopping, Christmas parties, baking, etc. I have been taking time to focus on the real reason for the season (Jesus Christ) and my family more instead of giving you devotionals every single day.

I plan to re-pick up the Names of Jesus series during Lent leading up to Easter. Posting every day is really not reasonable for me right now and I want to give you good quality material with a Christ-centered message.  Please be patient with me. I’m still trying to get the hang of blogging.

I last posted on Friday. So here’s three thoughts for the weekend I missed and today.

Are you welcoming Jesus into your home, marriage, and heart this Christmas? Remember Jesus this Christmas as The Door, Emmanuel, and Friend!

Image

Jesus is the Door! – Walk through the Door this Christmas and experience the abundant life Jesus promises in John 10:7-10!

 So Jesus again said to them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, I am the door of the sheep. All who came before Me are thieves and robbers, but the sheep did not listen to them. I am the door. If anyone enters by Me, he will be saved and will go in and out and find pasture. The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have life and have it abundantly.”

Jesus is Emmanuel – God with us! The reality of God with us is…

1) We are never alone

Matthew 28:20 “Be sure of this: I am with you always, even to the end of the age.”

2) We are not abandoned

Deuteronomy 31:6 “Be strong and courageous. Do not fear or be in dread of them, for it is the Lord your God who goes with you. He will not leave you or forsake you.”

3) Because of His presence, we are blessed

1 Chronicles 16:27 “Honor and majesty are found in His presence; strength and joy are found in His sanctuary.”

Exodus 33:14 “My presence will go with you, and I will give you rest.”

Psalm 16:11 “You will show me the path of life; In Your presence is fullness of joy; At Your right hand are pleasures forevermore.”

4) We can trust Him for everything!

Psalm 9:10 “Those who know Your name will trust in You, for You, LORD Yahweh, have never forsaken those who seek You.”

John 14:1 “Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God; trust also in Me (Christ Jesus).”

Jesus is Our Friend. He’s the ultimate Friend. He laid down His life for us. What a radical, beautiful gift!

“Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends.” John 15:13

“No longer do I call you servants, for the servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all that I have heard from My Father I have made known to you.” John 15:15

Remember the greatest gift of friendship ever bestowed this Christmas! Remember Jesus – the real reason for the season.

Drop a Line

