Remembering Jesus Our Advocate & 7 Practical Ways to Be Your Husband’s Advocate

Remembering Jesus Our Advocate & 7 Ways to Become Your Husband's Advocate

READ: 

My dear children, I write this to you so that you will not sin. But if anybody does sin, we have an advocate with the Father—Jesus Christ, the Righteous One. He is the atoning sacrifice for our sins, and not only for ours but also for the sins of the whole world.” 1 John 2:1-2

REFLECT: Today’s JOY thought is taken from Daily Devotion: Mars Hill Church, Orange County. It’s titled: Jesus is Our Advocate by Nick Bogardus, lead pastor. 

This Christmas, remember the reality of your Advocate. Jesus didn’t come to the earth to be a cute little baby. He came to save. He came to die. What a stark reality! What a picture of infinite grace! Jesus Christ, our Advocate, came to the earth to die because justice needed to be served, but He also came to intervene on our behalf, to plead our cause, wash us in His blood so that we could receive His mercy.

God made Him [Jesus the Advocate] who had no sin to be sin for us, so that in Him [our Advocate] we might become the righteousness of God.” 1 Corinthians 5:21

Photo Credit: Photostock

As a wife, I don’t often think of myself as my husband’s advocate. I think back to the days when I rebelliously went out of my way to disrespect my husband when I was angry with him, feeling like he wasn’t measuring up to who I thought he should be. Once I let go of my stubborn pride and let the Holy Spirit work in my heart, I realized that I needed to be extending Adam the same grace and mercy that was extended to me by my Heavenly Father because of the work of my Advocate, Jesus Christ. I began to see Adam for who God created him to be, not who I wanted him to be.

A husband and wife are on the same team and they can be each other’s greatest ally or greatest stumbling block. As a wife, you have been placed in a precious position to protect your husband’s heart and make your home a place of grace and strength. Instead of siding with the Enemy, believing and giving into the lies that your husband needs to work harder, be better, or be someone completely different, kick the Evil One out of home and heart by becoming your husband’s advocate!

How do you do this?

1. Intercede on your husband’s behalf in prayer. Start by praying for your own heart – that God would give you an attitude of humility, forgiveness, grace, and love and that He would protect you against the lies of the Devil. Pray regularly and daily for your husband. Start by praying on the full armor of God.

2. Be on alert for things that may harm your marriage from not spending enough quality time together to spending time with the wrong kinds of people who do not affirm and uplift your marriage to reading/watching trashy novels or movies to holding your spouse to unfair expectations. Daily ask God to renew your mind and make you aware of things that may be dividing you.

3. Cheer your husband on when he’s succeeding, when he did something without being asked, when he unexpectedly does something incredibly romantic, etc. Build him up with praise instead of tearing him down with criticism.

4. Support your husband and stand by his decisions. Praise him when he does the right thing, even if it means losing a job, a promotion, a friend, etc. Stick with him in the tough times and be the pillar of strength he needs.

5. Encourage your husband respectfully when he’s struggling to do the right thing. Speak the truth in love. Remind him that you love him when you confront him, take his hand, and embrace him before you start speaking.

6. Come behind your husband as a guard. Sometimes men charge ahead confidently, but are unaware of what’s behind them. Protect his heart and home in these practical ways.

7. Let your husband guard you. Husbands are called to protect their wives, but often times, we don’t let them. Submit to his spiritual, emotional, and physical protection. Let go of your pride and allow your husband to help when you need it, and even when you don’t need it sometimes.

RESPOND: Dear God, I can have fellowship with You because of the intervening work of my Advocate, Jesus Christ. No one can come to You except through Him. I am whole, redeemed, new, clean, and righteous because of His work on the cross. I am so grateful for Your provision, for sending Your Son to live, die, and resurrect for me so that I may live in You. I have been reconciled with You, the Father, because of what Jesus Christ has done in interceding on my behalf. I didn’t deserve it, but You gave so freely anyway, loving me so passionately and purely that You hated to see me stay in sin and You provided a way for me to be made right again. As a Holy God, You cannot stand sin. I pray that I would diligently resist sin and grow to hate sin as You hate sin. In Christ Jesus, we have been purged of all sin and guilt and shame, and have been cleansed by His blood. I can unashamedly proclaim I’ve been washed in the blood of Jesus. Lord, I pray that I would be an advocate for my husband – supporting him, protecting his heart, encouraging him, standing by him, and loving him always as You have loved me. In Christ’s Name, Amen. 

REJOICE: What are you joyful for today? I am joyful because of my Advocate, Jesus Christ, for God the Father sending His Son to this earth to live, die, and resurrect for me, and for the privilege of being my husband’s advocate.

Your Turn! Share 3 Things that you’re joyful for in the comments below. What do you think about this idea of being your husband’s advocate? In what other ways can you work at protecting your husband?

Linking Up With: The Alabaster Jar

1 Comment

    Trackbacks

    1. Communication His Way, Day 8 | Becoming His Eve

    Drop a Line

