Praises and Prayers

Thank you everyone for continuing to follow my blog. These past couple weeks have been hectic as my husband and I are adjusting to new, fairly demanding jobs. I’m still trying to get the hang of my schedule and I caught a cold too during this process.

I have two new jobs – one is as a pool monitor in our community and another as a wellness representative for a wellness company. The first job is fairly simple and straightforward and I work 2-4 days a week, usually 3-6 hour shifts, making sure people follow the rules and keeping the pool area clean. It’s pretty laid back as long as nothing goes wrong, and I can even read on the job (an added perk!). However, getting my schedule in advance proves to be difficult at times, often conflicting with my second job and the pay’s not fantastic. My second job is pretty much from home, with the exception of the workshops. I can set my own hours for the most part, but I try to get in a little each day. It’s nice because I get to use my public relations skills I went to college for and got my degree in, and also because I can work around doing household chores, church, friends and family, the blog, my husband, etc. Much of this job requires the telephone so I’m on the phone a lot, and I’m sure as fellow women readers can understand, we, women, like to gab. I have deadlines and requirements to meet, and at this point, it’s quite challenging since I’m new to the job and I’m learning as I go.

The biggest reason I’m telling you this is because I’m so grateful that the Lord has provided my husband and I jobs. We had been praying for good jobs for a long time. But the next biggest reason I’m telling you this is so that you can pray.

1. For our spiritual lives

Adam and I have gotten into a good routine, doing devotions every morning over breakfast and praying together before he goes to work. It has completely enriched our prayer life and has deepened our spiritual intimacy, and because we’re consistent, we’ve developed more spiritual discipline. Pray for continued growth and intimacy in our spiritual lives.

2. For my own personal walk with the Lord

I’ve been feeling overwhelmed in these last few weeks and it’s been challenging to find the time to read my Bible personally (and even pray). I’m often not sure what to say, which is a first for me, and I am ashamed to admit I’ve been struggling with doubting God’s provision and presence. I’m so grateful God has hold of my heart and He’s not letting it go without a fight. Pray that I would continue to grow and mature in my own faith walk and that God would make His presence very clear in my life so there’s no room for doubt or for the Devil to have a foothold.

3. For this blog

I’m so grateful that God has blessed me with the gifts and talents needed to maintain this blog. It is truly a gift from God. I praise God for each and every one of you whether you’ve been with me since the beginning or you just stumbled onto the blog today. It’s difficult sometimes to write to you because I’m far from perfect and you know the old adage, “practice what you preach?”; it doesn’t always come easy for me. Life has been so busy and crazy as of late and I don’t want to neglect, you, my readers at all. Pray that the time would be provided to continue this ministry and that God would give me the words to say to instruct, bless, and encourage all of you.

4. For my husband

I praise God for giving me such a wonderful, godly husband. I also want to praise God for His recent provision of a new job in Adam’s field. Pray that God will use him to bless his coworkers and customers, and that he will exercise wisdom and sound judgment in his work. Pray for safe traveling mercies to and from his job as it’s nearly an hour away.

5. For Vacation Bible School

I’m helping out with VBS at church all this week. We started last night. I’m working around my other job schedule, but I really want to give my all to these kids. Pray for focus, strength, and energy for all the VBS leaders. Pray that we would be well-fed and well-rested this week (as finding the time is often difficult). Pray for these kids to be open and receptive to learning about God and that the message of the Gospel would come across strong, loud, and clear.

6. For friendship

For my husband and I, friendship is precious. We have many good friends who live far away, but we haven’t been able to make many good friends near our new home yet. Pray that God would bring people into our lives that not only would meet this need for friendship in our lives, but more importantly, that we can genuinely serve, bless, and love on also.

7. For myself

I thank God for providing me with two jobs this summer. I’d like to ask for prayer for courage, endurance, and perseverance in my faith walk and in my job situations.

Live and Grow

It was hard for me to write this. Being vulnerable is never easy, but God didn’t intend us to walk through life alone, or to keep our needs and desires to ourselves. I’m sharing this with you because I need prayer and I’m not ashamed to admit it. I also hope that I can partner with you in prayer and that you’d be willing to share something you need or desire in your life. I’d like Becoming His Eve to be a community of prayer.

If you’re on this page and you write a prayer request, I’d like to ask that you commit to praying for the person above you in the comment chain. Even if just for a week. Add the person to your regular prayer list. Feel free to write the prayer for them right on here, but either way, reach out and pray for your fellow sisters (and brothers) in Christ.

Will you join me? What’s something we can pray for?

3 Comments

  1. Thank you Kelly and April. I appreciate it.

  2. Things sound very busy for you. I’ll pray that you maintain balance. Thanks for linking up with us at NOBH.

  3. I will be praying for you!

Drop a Line

