Do You Hear What I Hear?

Editor’s Note: This is Part 12 in the Portrait of Eve series. The letter portion of this article was included in Sunny Side Up e-letter Issue 3.

The Voice of God

Have you ever wondered what God would sound like if He talked to you audibly? Would it be something like Morgan Freeman in the Bruce Almighty movie? Or would He sound like the Voice of God from the movie classic, The Ten Commandments? Or would He sound like something completely unexpected like the original Obi Wan Kenobi from Star Wars: Episode IV? It’s not that God doesn’t speak audibly or that He’s can’t, but it seems these days He doesn’t choose this method of communication.

When Adam and Eve were created, they were able to audibly hear God’s voice. I can’t imagine their relationship with each other and with God, and the kind of life they must have had – perfect and pure. Eve didn’t have to worry about pre-menstrual cramps or a harsh husband or if she’d get sunburned at the summer barbecue. In fact, she didn’t wear anything at all and the Bible says, Adam and his wife were both naked, and they felt no shame” (Genesis 2:25). But that wasn’t the only complete exposure Eve had. She had an intimate, open dialogue with God and could actually hear Him talking back. It’s not like we can’t communicate our thoughts and feelings to God, or that we can’t hear His Voice, but do we hear Him audibly?

I believe some of that is because we choose not to listen to God. Sure, God could come down and talk in a deep voice all King-like and tell us He means business, but that would be all theatrics. When the Son of God did choose to come to this earth, He didn’t do it with bells and banners. He came to earth born to a virgin and a carpenter, born in a dirty, musty, smelly stable, laid to rest in a manager, a food trough for animals. There were no elaborate welcoming parties for Him. He didn’t ride in, guns ablazin’. Nope, He came on a simple, quiet night in a little town called Bethlehem.

In the Garden of Eden, Adam and Eve couldn’t have had any idea what sin was. They didn’t know what the consequences of their actions would really entail. Their life was perfect and unspoiled.Their relationship with God was on a totally different level than we will ever have in this life. There was complete trust, complete safety, complete assurance. They had absolutely everything she would ever need.

Flash forward. Eve willingly chose to take of the fruit and her eyes were opened. She realized she was naked and that she had screwed up big time. And Adam who was with her also took of the fruit. He too was naked and ashamed. They ran away and hid from God, afraid of facing the consequences. How often do you run away and hide from God (or your spouse or your parents or a friend) because you don’t want to deal with the consequences of your actions and you’re afraid of the results?

The Prince of Lies

But this is exactly the lie Satan wants us to believe. He wants you to believe that…

1) You’re all alone in this world and that when you fail, you’re a failure.

2) God is some tyrant, unwilling to love His children after they’ve screwed up and broken the rules.

3) By denying your sin, you can escape the consequences and make it go away. Escaping is a solution and that you can run away from the consequences, from your loved ones, from yourself, and from God.

1 John 4:8-10 addresses this issue: “If we claim to be without sin,we deceive ourselves and the truth is not in us.If we confess our sins, He (God) is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness. If we claim we have not sinned, we make Him out to be a liar and His word is not in us.”

God is just. Sin does have consequences. Adam and Eve were punished by being banished from the garden and bringing shame, pain, and guilt into the world among another whole host of things, and we, their children, have to accept the consequences for our own sins. BUT… it doesn’t stop there! God is gracious. We didn’t and don’t have to pay the price for our sins. That is what Christ Jesus did on the cross.

There’s a better solution to walking or running away from God. It’s called grace. Accept God’s free gift of grace that He paid for at a great cost – the cost of His own Son, Jesus Christ. Don’t tune out God’s Voice. He works in mysterious ways and can speak even more awesomely than audibly to us – He can speak to our hearts.

The Voice of Truth

Tune out Satan’s lies by remembering these truths:

1) You are NOT alone. God will always be by your side. “…The Lord your God goes with you; He will never leave you nor forsake you” (Deuteronomy 31:6).

2) While God is just, He is also gracious and like 1 John 4:9 says, He will forgive you when you come to Him and confess your sin; when you come to Him and tell Him you need Him, He will be there. 2 Chronicles 30:9 says, “the Lord your God is gracious and compassionate. He will not turn His face from you if you return to Him.”

3) Running away only complicates things. You cannot run from yourself and you cannot hide from God. Just like Adam and Eve were found out in the Garden after they hid, so will God find you. But He’s not a tyrant. He won’t force you to serve Him and to love Him. But He does long for you and for your heart. Isaiah 30:18 says, “…Yet the Lord longs to be gracious to you; therefore He will rise up to show you compassion.” Jesus Christ loved a people enough, loved all of us enough to come to this earth and die for us. He cries out to Jerusalem, His earthly homeland and says, “O Jerusalem, Jerusalem, you who kill the prophets and stone those sent to you,how often I have longed to gather your children together, as a hen gathers her chicks under her wings, and you were not willing.”

Don’t be unwilling. Remember His grace and remember the words that His Word speaks to your heart. Remember God’s love for you. Remember Christ’s Love Letter to you on the cross.

The Voice of Love

Here’s what He says:

My beloved,
I have loved you with an ever-lasting love (Jeremiah 31:3). I have fought for you against principalities and powers; I have made a public spectacle of those who would war against your very heart and soul (Ephesians 6:12; Colossians 2:15). You need only to be still (Exodus 14:14). You don’t need to worry because I have everything under My sovereign control (Colossians 1:16). You don’t need to worry because I will provide your every need and have called you because of My goodness and My glory (2 Peter 1:3). I care more for you than the birds of the air who do not need to grow their own food and store up food for themselves (Matthew 6:25-26). I will protect and guide your steps. You do not need to fear, for My love is perfect (1 John 4:18). I give you this great and precious promise: you can participate in My divine nature – you can be apart of My wonderful gift of eternal life and I have enabled you to escape the corruption of this world and evil desires (2 Peter 1:4).

I have endured great shame and excruciating pain so that you may be redeemed, forgiven through the blood I spilled (Ephesians 1:7). I was sent to die on your behalf, to take the penalty you deserved upon My shoulders because I loved you that much and I wanted you to be made right again (1 John 4:10). By My wounds, you are healed, and you can now live in righteousness (1 Peter 2:24). While you were still dead in your sins, I demonstrated My love for you through My substitutionary excruciating death upon a cross (Isaiah 53:3-10). Do not be troubled in your heart. I wanted you to have a place in My kingdom and so I died for you (John 14:1-4).

But it doesn’t end there. I rose up from the grave on the third day, conquering sin and death, victorious and now I reside at the right hand of the Father in heaven. You have been made alive through Me (Colossians 3:1). One day, I will come back for you so make yourself ready (Matthew 24:44; 1 Thessalonians 4:16-17).

I also live in your heart. My love has been made complete in you (1 John 4:12). I love you not because of what you do, but because You are mine and I have saved you through grace by your faith. I have made you a beautiful piece of work—a glorious creation (Ephesians 2:8-10; Psalm 8:4-5; Isaiah 35:10). I adopted you before the foundation of the world, before this world existed because it brings Me pleasure to call you home, because I delight in loving you (Ephesians 1:3-6). I cannot be silenced. I cannot be quiet until you shine like the dawn, until you are vindicated, absolved, made clean (Isaiah 62:1). I will not be silent until your salvation shines like a blazing torch for all to see, for a light on a hill cannot be put out (Isaiah 62:1; Matthew 5:14-16).

You are My Bride – beautiful, breathtaking, and radiant. I am captivated by your beauty (Psalm 45:11). I am glorious and I share My glory with you (Psalm 45:13; Romans 8:17). I delight in you, My darling. I have given you the radiant garments of salvation and the robe of righteousness to wear with honor (Isaiah 61:10). Everyone will see your glory. You are no longer desolate, depressed, and downcast. I have not forgotten you; I have lifted you up on My shoulders; I have written your name on My hands and the people will gather around you (Isaiah 49:15-18; Psalm 146:8). I have exceeding joy because I have made you Mine and My joy is now complete in you because of what my Father and I have done for you (John 3:29). I have rescued you from your distress because I delight in you (Psalm 18:19). You will be a crown of splendor in My hand, a royal diadem in My hand (Isaiah 62:3). I will call you “My Delight is in Her” and “Beautiful” (Isaiah 62:4). I will crown you with victory because I delight in My people; I delight in you (Psalm 149:4). I will rejoice over you as a young man rejoices over his bride (Isaiah 62:5).

What I ask of you in return is great, and will require much sacrifice (Matthew 16:24; Romans 12:1). You will be persecuted because of My Name, but you will be blessed because of it and your reward will be in heaven (Matthew 5:10-12; 2 Timothy 3:12). There are people who will hate you (Matthew 10:22; John15:18), who will undermine your confidence, who will take advantage of your beauty, who will forget and neglect you, and who will wound you deeply (Psalm 109:21-22). There are powers and forces of evil who will fight against you, warring against your very soul (Ephesians 6:12).

But remember, nothing can separate you from My love! Nothing can tear you from My hand (Romans 8:35-38). Remember, you are My Beloved Bride and I bought you with a price and to make you My own (1 Corinthians 6:19-20). I will rescue you because I delight in you (Psalm 18:19). I will build you up with My strength and clothe you in dignity (Psalm 18:32; Proverbs 31:25; Isaiah 40:29). I will protect you with My power (John 17:11). I will make you more radiant than you can imagine; your heart will swell with joy; you will be presented before My Father as holy, blameless and pure Bride because I have loved you unconditionally (Isaiah 60:5; Ephesians 5:25-27). I will not forsake you (Deuteronomy 31:6). I have healed your wounds by My wounds (Isaiah 53:5).

If you give up everything for My name and My glory, I will give you everything I have in return – salvation (Acts 4:12; Revelation 7:10), mercy, hope, peace, access to the Father, grace, perseverance, love, and character (Romans 5:1-8; 1 Peter 1:3), victory (Psalm 20:6; 1 Corinthians 15:57), purpose (Ephesians 4:1), and even Myself and through Me, life everlasting (John 10:28). It’s a huge sacrifice for you to make, but remember, My darling, that I gave the ultimate sacrifice so that I could be with you forever.

I love you, My Beauty, My Bride, My Beloved,
Your Bridegroom,
Jesus Christ

Live and Grow

Do you hear what I hear? Love. I highly encourage you to spend time in Scripture, reading the beautiful words He has penned to speak to your heart. Look up the verses mentioned and treasure them in your heart—knowing that you are loved more powerfully, more poignantly, and more unconditionally than you realize by the Son of the King of Kings. The Love of your life, is holding out His hand to you and offering you the adventure of a lifetime—an eternal lifetime! Are you ready?

Related Posts:

1. Radical Transformation, Part 5 in Portrait of Eve series Are you consciously and actively seeking Christ?

2. Radical Worship, Part 4 in Portrait of Eve series. Are you letting go of self to love and serve God?

To see more in this series, click here.


Drop a Line

