Bring Out the Superman!

Fond Childhood Memories

At my bridal shower, the girls asked me various how-well-do-you-know questions about my soon-to-be husband. One for them was what’s Adam’s favorite superhero. I think I said Iron Man. I guessed wrong. It is Superman.

The story I’m about to tell you might embarrass my husband a little, but I found it too endearing not to pass on telling you. When my husband was a kid, according to his mother, he would wear a red cape everywhere as his favorite super hero was superman. We all can probably recall moments from our childhood where we did “silly” things like this. I wanted to be a cross between Nancy Drew and Eeyore. Don’t ask!

I also remember carrying around a stuffed dog affectionately named Muffy. She went everywhere with me – doctors appointments, the grocery store, vacations, in the car, out to backyard plays and tea parties. I still have that lovable stuffed dog, still wearing the purple baby knit sweater I purchased with my pennies at a thrift store. I hope someday to pass her along to my daughter or son.

This week is Superman Week. I’m not exactly sure who decided that. Is there a Batman Week? An Iron Man Week? A Spider-Man Week? But nevertheless, according to Zany Holidays, this week is indeed, the “flying red-caped man” week. Of course, with my interest piqued, I decided to do a little research.

Did You Know?

Superman.jpg

6 Facts About Superman You May or May Not Know

1) Superman was created in 1932 by Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster, but was rejected repeatedly by publishers. In 1938, DC Comics, at the time known as National Allied Publications, decided to give them a shot. (Source: Little Known Facts About Superman)

2) When he was first created, Superman was not the same superhero we all know and love today. In fact, he was written to be a bald telepathic villain with the ability to control minds and he was bent on world domination.  (Source: Little Known Facts About Superman & 5 Things You Never Knew About Superman)

3) There has been a version of the Superman outfit that was black and red. He wore this outfit after the Imperiex War when he came back from the dead. (Source: Fun Trivia)

4) The “S” on Superman’s chest is currently the Kryptonian symbol for “hope,” but upside down, the symbol means “resurrection.” (Source: Little Known Facts About Superman) 

5) Superman DID somehow pick up the ability to time travel, as revealed in the 1960s comics. He went back in time to meet Old Will Shakespeare. (Source: 5 Things You Never Knew About Superman)

6) Superman’s physique was fashioned after Sampson in the Bible and the Greek mythology character, Hercules. His civilian name, however, was a combination of actor Clark Gable and actor Kent Taylor. (Source: Facts About Man of Steel) 

Night of Superman

Dear Adam, my personal Superman, I’m inviting you to a date night at home complete with the Superman movie, some “super-man” foods, and of course, the best part of the marriage package comes after the movie ;o) Yours faithfully, Hannah (aka Lois Lane…but only for the evening)

What better way to celebrate Superman Week than to turn it into a date night!

Print out a picture of the Superman symbol and paste it to a large index card. Write a message inviting your husband to a Night of Superman! (Fill in your own personal message).

Rent one of the Superman movies (unless of course, you already have it and don’t need to!) or Superman cartoons. If he’s really not into Superman, you could pick another superhero (if you must).

If you really want to be authentic, you can find a red cape (or blanket), it might even be fun to pin that on your husband’s shoulders. (I think my husband might have a superman tee shirt somewhere) or print out the Superman “S” symbol and paste it to your husband’s shirt.

Make super “man” foods a.k.a. his favorite dishes and serve it on red and blue plate ware. (i.e. pizza, corndogs, barbecue chicken wings, steak burgers and fries, red and blue gelatin salad with strawberries, blueberries, and banana slices, and ‘kryptonite root beer floats or ‘kryptonite’ milkshake – use green food coloring – for dessert).

For something healthy…

“Superdillas: For this Superman party recipe, you’ll need whole wheat tortillas, grated cheese, grilled or stir-fried onions and peppers. You’ll also need a sample of Superman emblem, pencil, heavy paper, craft scissors, food coloring marker, kitchen scissors and a cookie sheet.

Create a template of the emblem from the heavy paper, sized smaller than a tortilla. Trace around the template onto the first tortilla, using a food coloring marker. Cut out the emblem with kitchen scissors. Layer cheese and vegetables on the second tortilla and add “S” to the top. Bake on cookie sheet in preheated oven at 300°F until cheese is melted (approximately 5-10 minutes).” (And you could always scrap the S idea…these sound yummy!) [Source: *I borrowed this idea from kids-birthday-party-guide.]

And what movie isn’t complete without popcorn? For popcorn ideas or alternatives, try out Pop, Pop, Pop Night from Love is in the Air Dares.

Of course, the best part about being married comes when the movie is over. Make your man feel like he’s your own “Superman.”  Use red and blue candles in the bedroom if you wish.

Just for Kicks

Yes, ladies, if you can believe it…

the girl who stole Superman’s heart wedding garter

 Man of Steel Wedding Band

Wedding Ring Bearer Pillow - Superman Superhero Themed S

Wedding Ring Bearer Pillow – Superman Superhero Themed S

Superman Wedding Cake

Superman themed engagement photos: I must admit out of all the wacky, crazy photos posted above… these last two are my favorites! 

Of course, the ultimate Super Hero is Jesus Christ! All those other guys… well, they fall… WAY, way, way, way, way short!

10 Comments

  1. elhieza

    wow! this is awesome! i really love ur post! it happens that our wedding theme is also superman that will be held soon… and im thinking of having superman wedding ring.. and i fell inlove with your rings.. thank you for posting..
    may i just ask for a little help, if u could give me the email address or webpage where i can buy those rings? i saw some here at net, but not sure if the are genuine. pls help me. thank u so much! GODBLESS U!

    • Hi Elhieza, I apologize for the delay. I’ve been on a blogging hiatus. I just googled Superman wedding photos and came across the photos posted above. I do not own any of the items and I didn’t have a Superman wedding. However, when I googled “man of steel” ring, I came across quite a few nice ones for sale online. I’d just peruse the web (i.e. Ebay, Etsy, Amazon) and hopefully you’ll come across something. Best wishes with your upcoming nuptials (unless it’s happened already and if so, I sincerely apologize for how long it took me to get back to you). God’s blessings!

  2. Love this! Thanks for sharing with us at NOBH. Every blessing, Miss Nancy Drew/Eeyore!

    • I’m glad you enjoyed. Thought it would be fun to share!

  3. Somehow I don’t think there is a special day to celebrate “The Tick” (lol). That’s my Dear Hubby’s fav super hero! :D However, I love the idea of a TICK invitation maybe on cut out paper “moth wings” … and we could look for the button on Arthur’s sofa that converts it into his superhero lair! Yes!

    • Awesome! I commend your creativity! Thanks for stopping by!

  4. I have to admit, Superman is not one of my husband’s favorite superheroes (nor mine). His favorite is Nightcrawler. Not sure how that translates to a movie night. And I like almost all of the X-Men in general. Still, I loved the geeky pics.

    • Haha. You could always watch X2 together. And yes, I loved the geeky pictures too!

Trackbacks

  1. Pop Pop Pop Date | Becoming His Eve
  2. Feed Your Man, Day 12 | Becoming His Eve

Drop a Line

