Heart of the Matter

*If you haven’t already, head over and join the party on the March 1st Relaunch Party Page for special goodies!*

**Discussion Question posted below on comments**

***Read On Your Mark. Get Set. Go. for a general introduction to the relaunch.***

I am building a community, not just a blog.

Why Should I Care?

So what?

Uh oh! Is this going to get gritty?

These are some thoughts that might be popping around your head like popcorn kernels having a hay-day in the microwave! And these were questions that crossed my mind when the idea was first planted in my mind.

Why should I care?

Imagine a stranger comes up to you on the street and tells you that they’ve just won a million dollars. You’d be pretty skeptical, right? I know I would. The stranger keeps talking and talking, droning on about what they’re going to do with their money – what they want to buy, save, invest, etc. You might interrupt them and say, “Why should I care?”

Truth is, if you are asking yourself “Why should I care?” you are already entertaining the thought of caring, and may have even starting caring without even realizing it. Wouldn’t we all like to win a million dollars? Wouldn’t I be excited if I won a lot of dough? While you probably wouldn’t go find a stranger on the street to tell them about it, we all sub-consciously and unconsciously want people to care about us.

Imagine another stranger comes up to you on the street and tells you that their grandmother has just died. You might muster up a little more care for them than you would if they told you the money story. Why? Because humans need to share in suffering and grief, and all of us have known loss in some way, shape, or form.

Now I’m not about to walk up to you on the street and offer you a million bucks and I’m not here to tell you a relative of mine has passed away. What I am going to tell you is I care and I’d like you to care with me. And by caring, I’m asking you to take the time to invest in the Becoming His Eve (BHE) community.

So what?

I tell you I care. Maybe you’re not convinced. Is that really true?

We are an intensely interconnected people and as women we feel this reality personally. We long to be affirmed, told we’re beautiful, told that someone out there cares about us, that we’re worth it, that we have thoughts that matter.

I may not know you personally, but I can tell you this – as a woman, you are beautiful. From one woman to the next, I do care about you or Becoming His Eve wouldn’t exist. You are worth investing in and your thoughts do matter.

I am building a community, not just a blog. What does that mean, you ask? Well, first, I have to define a community, but anyone could look up a dictionary definition. It’s a waste of screen space. Community isn’t defined by a bunch of words in a textbook or typed on a computer screen. It is defined by real life, flesh-and-blood individuals who take the time to invest in each other through interaction, support, and devotion.

In the age of social media, we as women of faith have a unique opportunity to be a light to a dark and fallen world ONLINE! As more and more people are searching networking sites to find purpose and connection, I want help build a community and not just a blog. But I merely have the beginning tools. I want you to help me finish the project. I want us to cultivate a place for growth, intimacy, depth, and belonging. More than anything, I don’t want to just drone on about myself and about topics that interest me. I want to write about and I want you to share about topics that interest you. I want to hear YOU!

Uh oh! Is this going to get gritty?

If we’re doing it right, yes! Not all topics will be “safe.” We won’t always agree on everything. We won’t always tell you what you want to hear, but it may be something you need to hear. But think of your closest relationships with people. Are they ever easy? Don’t they take work? Doing life together isn’t easy, and when we’re close with each other, the ship will get rocked a little.

The Devil likes nothing more than to prey on our insecurities, feed our skepticism, keep us disconnected, and fan the flames of discord. That’s why I’m calling all women of faith who venture into this community to pray. Pray that we will be vessels for the Lord, encouraging and uplifting one another in the faith, and that we would not be ashamed or afraid of breaching hard subjects. Pray that God’s holy, pure, and perfect love will bind us together in unity, and fill us with compassion and wisdom as we speak out.

God’s kind of love is messy, sticky, and painful, but ultimately rewarding and reassuring. The heart is central to all things.  John Eldredge argues in Waking the Dead: The Glory of A Heart Fully Alive, “Our deepest thoughts are held in our hearts. Scripture itself claims to be ‘sharper than any double-edged sword… it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart’ (Hebrews 4:12)…” and later asserts, “The heart is the connecting point, the meeting place between any two persons. The kind of deep soul intimacy we crave with God and with others can be experienced only from the desire of the heart.”

The Heart of the Matter 

Any time the heart is involved things are bound to get sticky. But let’s remember this: Jesus says the Greatest Commandment is to “love the Lord your God with all your heart, soul, and mind…” But it doesn’t end there. “And the second is like it: Love your neighbor as yourself. On these two commandments depend the whole Law and the Prophets.” (Matthew 22:34-40-NASB). It doesn’t say love God with your mind first or your mind only. No, Jesus specifically mentions the heart first. Romans 10:9-10 says, “If you declare with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised Him from the dead, you will be saved. For it is with your heart that you believe and are justified…”

Why do you suppose Jesus says “on these two commandments depend the whole Law and the Prophets?” Because without the heart, without love, deep, abiding love that goes beyond feelings and translates into thoughts, beliefs, and actions, we cannot follow any of the other commands. We cannot know God. We cannot believe Christ’s message. 1 John 4:7 says, “Beloved, let us love one another, for love comes from God and everyone who loves knows God and is born of God.”

My greatest desire in building this community is that you may know the love of God, the love of your Savior, our Bridegroom more deeply and passionately, and that love would translate out through our words and actions toward one another.

We’re building community together! So who’s with me? 

1 Comment

  1. How can we live from our hearts more fully and readily? By opening ourselves up to God’s love, how does that equip us to love others? How does love help build community?

Drop a Line

